preacherpen

Bibles – What Are They For?

In Bibles on July 13, 2008 at 7:49 AM

Many people I know have quite a few Bibles lying around their houses. Unfortunately, there is a high percentage of those Bibles that hardly ever get any use; they just sit, gathering dust and taking up space. I own several Bibles, but they don’t just sit on a shelf, they are used. What about you? How many Bibles do you have, and are they actually read? Hopefully, you will be able to answer “yes” about making Bible reading a routine part of your lives.

Bibles are meant to be read, and if they only sit idly by, they are not doing anything for you. There are riches in the pages of God’s holy writ that are waiting to be uncovered by the reader who digs for them. Let me tell you, friend, what the Lord has for you will not jump off the pages and land in your spirit if you are not willing to spend time seeking for it.

While on the isle of Patmos, John wrote in Revelation 1:3 “Blessed is he that readeth, and they that hear the words of this prophecy, and keep those things which are written therein: for the time is at hand.” I believe the Lord wants to bless those who spend time with Him through the pages of the glorious book we call the Bible. Do you feel that way, too?

I’ve written about reading daily here and here. After reading several excellent blogs about the virtues of high quality bindings, covers and papers, I though it would be interesting to take a look at some of the Bibles I own. Understand, my intention is not to duplicate the fine work others have already labored over; it is, however, my intention to discuss the Bibles that are in my library.

Now, I must give credit to Mark Bertrand at the Bible Design & Binding Blog. While searching the Internet for a particular Bible, his remarkable blog appeared in the search list. After clicking on it for the first time, I was hooked in a big way. His articles are both interesting and informative, and I’ve learned quite a lot about quality Bibles through is writings. Many people, far more knowledgeable than me, frequent his blog, and I’ve gleaned a lot of information by just reading. Stay tuned.

  1. Pastor Parish,
    You have made a great start. Thanks so much for sending me the e-mail. I look forward to reading more later. Keep me informed.

    God bless,
    Pastor LaVoy
    St. Augustine, FL

  2. I love reading the bible. Genesis is one of the books I like a lot. I also have read some bits and pieces of other books. Well I hope I get to read more…(I will lol)

    from Holly ^.^

  3. […] today’s reading. If you would like to know more about this subject, you can browse through Bibles – What Are They For?. Thank God for His wonderful […]

  4. out of curiosity, what version do you read

  5. Hey, Doc. I am a King Jameser, for sure, but also like reading the New Century Version (NCV). The more I read it, the more I like it. Now, another version I fell in love with is the ESV, but I don’t have one, yet. Please look at my post entitled “Other Than the KJV?” Here’s the link https://preacherpen.wordpress.com/2008/07/18/other-than-the-kjv/

    My heart is set on an R. L. Allen and Sons ESV in highland goatskin. There’s a couple of links on my blog that give more information about these incredibly well-made Bibles.

    Now, what about you? Which version do you prefer?

  6. I love all Bibles! hahaha I have several, and in my pc I have 50…I like my NASB to study from, i understand it, and have heard it is closest to the original…But I love my NIV for daily reading…it is my dearest friend..doesn’t look att that good, but it is priceless. I have also like the CEV, and recommend to new believers…I think it is close with out changing the meaning too much like some. But I have been known to study with a bunch around me to just read different versions and thus gathering a larger scope of what it is saying.. I don’t know the greek and hebrew, but if I did I think they would be my favorite! 😆 have i answered the questions???

  7. @Darla: Yes, you certainly did answer the questions, and it is appreciated. I’ve not tried the CEV much, but have looked at it a time or two. Is it similar to the New Century Version (NCV)? Did you read my post called “Other Than the KJV?” It takes a look at several versions other than the King James text. https://preacherpen.wordpress.com/2008/07/18/other-than-the-kjv/

  8. Hey thanks for coming by my site today. I was so excited that you came by and also that you commented. You got 30 points for answering correctly on the Guru Game!!! Way to start off with a bang.

    As for how many Bibles I have laying around the house… Between my wife and I we probably have over 20 in various different versions. Mostly because it helps to be able to see other versions when we prepare messages.

    Just think in Bible times an entire village shared one and we have them laying around.

    Amazing.

  9. DaRonn, I am so thankful you came by this little slice of the internet; you are always welcome here. I hope we can stay in contact through our blogs.

    That’s quite a few Bible you have, and I’m sure they do get used. After all, isn’t that what they’re for? If they sit on the shelf, they are not doing any good, but if we ingest them, they are health to us.

  10. We have a couple of Good News Bibles in our house and they get used regularly for Bible studies and doing readings at church. I also keep mine next to my bed to read regularly, and I have almost finished reading the first four books of the old testament. I find it is a great comfort when I am upset or angry, or have just had a bad day.

  11. k, it was certainly nice of you to drop by and comment about the use of Bibles. What you wrote is most important:

    We have a couple of Good News Bibles in our house and they get used regularly for Bible studies and doing readings at church.

    If they don’t get used, they are good for nothing but to take up space, IMHO. Come again soon.

  12. I’ve probably 10 English Bibles and four or five Greek New Testaments. I started out after salvation with a zippered KJV and my uncle gave me a Old Scofield KJV from Oxford, which I wore out in six months to the point it was like trying to hold a newspaper.

    I used Scofield model 318 wide margins through Bible college in the early 90’s going through one per year and I bought a Thompson Chain which I started using after college at the behest of my Greek teacher. He thought Bibles shouldn’t have notes to distract from exegesis, only links, if anything at all. I kept that Thompson for daily use until the day the Challenger exploded over Texas (just coincidence) when I received a Cambridge Wide Margin KJV. I use that every day now.

    But, I want a R.A. Allen and yes, the Bible Design Blog is the only reason I know of the R.A.A Bibles. There’s a guy that sits in front of me at church who has one and it’s gorgeous. I just can’t justify the expense!

    • Thanks for visiting and commenting, Wilson. I appreciate your interaction on G+ and now here.

      Sadly, too many people have bibles but never open them. How many coffee tables have a family bible on them, but just for show? Thw word of God is meant to be read and applied to our lives; God’s eternal word is for us to live by!

      I have two ESV1s and love them. The only regret is that they were printed in China. Mind you, they are printed with great quality, but that’s not the point – RL Allan Bibles should be printed in Great Britain! Oh, well. I used both of them: one is Chocolate Brown and the other is British Tan. I would love to get the Reader Edition because of my eyesight and would be willing to trade up. I don’t mark in my RLAs. Listen, I know the Allan bibles are expensive, but they last and last and last; you could pass one of them down for your grandchildren to use!

      BTW, have you ever used a Dake Annotated Reference Bible? I’ve had five of them and consider them to be the best study bible available. Amazing. You can go to Dake.com and check them out.

      • I’ve seen Dake Bibles. When I was in college in Knoxville there were a couple students with them and while they’re nice, it’s almost too much information! LOL.
        The older I get, I just like having the Bible and a reference system and _maybe_ a concordance in the back – but with the smart phones even the concordance in the back is now obsolete. I will be in church or whatever with my Cambridge in my lap and if I need to check a word I’ll just open up one of my apps like Logos, Olive Tree, or YouVersion.
        I have a friend who works at Tennessee Temple who carries a custom made Hebrew and Greek Bible (Ron from Collegedale made it for him); I used to carry a nicely bound GNT with me to church along with my KJV, but again, the smart phone wins out!

Leave a comment