preacherpen

Cambridge Large Print KJV 83 Black Text Only Bible

In Bibles on July 13, 2008 at 7:40 AM

Until Florida’s 99th campmeeting in June, I had never owned a Cambridge Bible. Mark Bertrand’s excellent Bible Design & Binding Blog has several articles about Cambridge, and the posts are quite informative. He has reviewed a few of the high-end sort, and includes some very nicely done pictures. Unfortunately, I don’t own a digital camera, so you won’t find pictures on this blog, yet.

My eyes are not doing as well as they once did, and it’s time to think about Bibles with larger text. Most of my Bibles would be just right if not for the fact they are so difficult to read. Browsing through Mark’s blog lets me know I am not the only who has this problem.

At all our campmeetings, Pathway Press sets up a bookstore; it’s not hard to spend lots of time looking at the offerings and talking with friends. Hanging around the bookstore is a wonderful time of fellowship and quite a learning experience, too.

I asked if there were any Cambridge Bibles on hand, and was directed to a table that had some very nice offerings. There was a wide-margin in bonded leather, which was a definite no-go. Besides, the text was way too small for me. On the same shelf was a wonderful little Bible – the KJV 83 Black bound in French Morocco leather. I asked if it would be okay to put this one aside until I made up my mind. No problem.

Well, I bought that text-only Bible, and am quite pleased with it. The text is sharp and big enough for me to read comfortably. I do wish it had been a red-letter edition, but I can certainly live with black text. I know there are many who prefer no red on the pages of their Bibles. How about you?

There are absolutely no references in this Bible, and that’s alright. It is used primarily as a daily reading Bible, and for that purpose, it’s perfect. Cambridge chose to include only one ribbon marker, but three should be standard, as far as I’m concerned. Please don’t be stingy with markers; they are so useful, especially for a daily reading Bible.

My copy came in a King’s College slipcase, unlike most of the newer offerings. I really like this nice touch, and think Cambridge should go back to using them instead of the boxes they now use. I know, it’s such a small detail, but it’s important to a lot of other people, too.

Finally, the cover quality is quite disappointing. The lining wasn’t attached very well, and is already coming loose. There’s a lump under the lining on the inside front, and the corners were poorly glued. These quality issues should not be so evident coming from the oldest publisher in the world.

I’ve already spoken to the fine people at Baker Publishing Group, which is the North American distributor for Cambridge University Press Bibles. I was told it would be no problem to exchange my Bible for a new one. The trouble is, there aren’t any to trade for. There aren’t any in stock, and no one knows when a new shipment will arrive. I stay in contact with customer service, and will eventually get word to send mine in for exchange. Until that time, I will continue using this great Bible.

  1. I like Red Letter editions, but it’s not absolutely neccesary.

  2. Superior post.Preserve the great work,You should definitely have to keep updating your site

  3. Bible Verse, thanks for dropping by to visit this little slice of the net. You are most welcome any time. I really like this new #83 black text-only Bible, and use it quite a lot. There’s just nothing else to compare with God’s holy writ. Come again, and bring friends.

Leave a Reply

