preacherpen

The Original Hinsons are Still Ministering the Gospel

In The Pastor's Blog on December 18, 2008 at 7:48 PM

After giving my heart to the Lord on Easter Sunday, April 10, 1977, I began a journey and find myself still traveling down the road. Jesus Christ became the Lord of my life on that Easter Sunday, and my life forever changed; I’ve not been perfect, but have continually pressed forward in the name of the Lord. The road is sometimes bumpy and wrought with heartache, dismay and toil, but the Lord promised to stay with us all the way.

Not long after turning my life over to Jesus, I was introduced to a different style of music than what I was accustomed to hearing. Up to this point, my taste in music was like the following: Robin Trower, Pink Floyd, Uriah Heap, Deep Purple, John McLaughlin and the Mahavishnu Orchestra, Yes, CCR, ELO, BTO,  and many others. Here’s something strange: I also loved classical music; there’s something wonderful about listening to Bach and Mozart on quality sound equipment.

Someone at Bethel Full Gospel Church introduced me to such artists as The Hinsons and Florida Boys. Those groups could really sing, and you could tell they loved who they were singing about. My music taste gradually changed, and I no longer loved to hear the rock music mentioned in the paragraph above. I suppose the message of the Southern Gospel music is what I needed to feed my soul at the time, and I am so grateful for the experience.

After moving to Florida’s panhandle, I met, fell in love, and married the woman I have spent nearly thirty-one years in marriage to. She was raised in church and was familiar with so many of the gospel greats: The Happy Goodmans, Florida Boys, Dixie Echoes, The Hinsons, The Inspirations, and the list goes on and on. There was something very moving about the songs those old gospel groups sang as they ministered on stage and in local churches. It wasn’t long until The Hinsons became my favorite group, and I began acquiring as many LPs and tapes and I could get my hands on.

Over the years, my taste in music changed again. I am now more comfortable with contemporary praise and worship than any other style, although if a song lifts up the name of Jesus Christ, it’s pretty much alright with me. There’s some Christian music I don’t care for, but that’s another story.

For reasons I can’t explain, I picked up an old Hinsons CD recently and began listening all over again. Wow, what memories that brought back. It didn’t take long until I remembered why that group was my favorite. The sang with enthusiasm and a heavenly anointing like few others have had. The wrote the vast majority of the songs they sang, and you could certainly tell this group was in love with the one they sang about. My wife and I were privileged to see them in concert a couple of times many years ago, and I still have fond memories of those events. Once, after a concert in Panama City, Florida, Ronny, Kenny and Chris Hawkins met with my wife, twin girls and me for about 45 minutes to an hour. They treated us like we were important people, and that really meant a lot to our family.

Tragically, Kenny Hinson died in 1995 of cancer at the young age of forty-one. That’s entirely too young, but it happened. In my opinion, Kenny was one of the most influential voices in Southern Gospel music during his life, and many singers still strive to sing like him. One of the things I’ve always wanted the Lord to do for me is give me a voice and anointing like Kenny’s. That hasn’t happened, so I’ll settle for singing like me. I’ll stay in what God has anointed me for.

Many of you might not be familiar with the Hinsons, and I’d like to present a couple of videos for your viewing enjoyment. This old group may not sing like you would like, or the style may not be what you are accustomed to, but please listen to the music and hear the message of the songs. I would love for you to leave comments on whether or not you enjoyed the videos. Thanks.

“The Lighthouse” That’s Kenny singing lead, then Larry, Yvonne and Ronny.

“Two Winning Hands”

Now, friends, that’s talent and a great anointing.

  1. Well, what do you know. A man after my own heart. I loved The Hinsons when they were singing together. My Mom used to take me and my twin brother to see The Happy Goodmans and The Oak Ridge Boys in Fort Smith, AR. That was before the Oaks went country.

    My favorite group of all time has to be either The Cathedrals or Gold City. The Cathedrals had a line up of George Younce, Glen Payne, Mark Trammell, Danny Funderburk, and Roger Bennett that simply could bring the house down, withor without music. I saw them get a standing ovation at the Albert E. Brumley singing in Springdale, AR for singing an acapella version of God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen in the middle of the blazing summer time.

    Gold City had a line up of Tim Riley, Brian Free, Mike LeFevre, and Ivan Parker that had some of the best harmony you will ever hear. It made me very sad when they went their separate ways.

    I have also started listening to some contemporary Christian music, such as Casting Crowns and Point of Grace,but I still love my Southern Gospel music.

    • Larry, we’re telling on ourselves, but that’s perfectly in order. We used to go to the “All Night Gospel Sing” in Bonifay, Florida many years ago, and it really was all night. The talent we were privileged to see and hear was phenomenal. Rusty Goodman, The Goodmans, The Hinsons, Florida Boys, Dixie Echoes, The Kingsmen and many others are just some of the ones we’d see. Wow!

      There was just something special about Kenny and the rest of the Hinsons to me. I guess “The Lighthouse” is one of the most popular gospel songs ever written.

  2. The Lighthouse is one of my favorite songs to play on the bass guitar.

    Kenny Hinson had one of the standout voices in Southern Gospel music. There are a few people who could sing in a way that would make them standout among all the rest and he was truly one of those singers. I am not sure anyone knew the range of his voice, it was that strong and flexible. Ivan Parker comes to mind in the same way and so does George Younce. George could actually sing lead if he wanted, but when he decided to go into that low bass voice of his, he could shake the ORU Maybee Center like no other bass singer. What was amazing was the fact that you could actually understand every word he was singing when he did that.

    • Man, oh, man. I wanted to sing like Kenny Hinson and George Younce, but at different times. Ivan Parker is certainly one of those people with a standout voice, as you said. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Wow – they are fantastic. I spent most of my teenage and young adult years listening to country – the vocal quality of the Hinsons far outshines anything in the popular realm – and the words and message couldn’t be sweeter!

    • Diane, thanks for dropping by my little slice of the net. Yes, the Hinsons were a remarkable gospel group, and, frankly, there hasn’t been anyone to compare with them, IMHO. Kenny’s voice was a rare gift for those who were blessed to hear it. There is a group called “The New Hinsons” who are incredible singers, too. If you could find one of their CDs to listen to, you wouldn’t be disappointed.

  4. You know I agree with you about the Hinsons! I like the contemporary for worship and praise but when I am driving down the road I listen to the Hinsons and The Crabb Family. Jason reminds me of Kenny in the way that he puts all of himself in his singing and you know he is personally connected with the one he is singing about.

    Connie

    • No doubt about it. Do you remember seeing the Hinsons in PC? I can still remember some of the concerts my bride and I went to. One night, when the girls were quite little, we talked with Ronny, Kenny and Chris for about 45 minutes to an hour after a concert. It seems like we were the only ones in the place. Actually, Larry was talking with another fan. Kenny had an amazing talent, and was happy to share it with the rest of the world.

  5. One of my favorite singing groups ever!!!! And always will be!!!

    • Judy, the voices blended together with such power and vibrancy, you couldn’t help being moved by their songs. Thanks for dropping by, and come again.

  6. The Hinsons are my all-time favorite group. I got to see them several times in the early-mid 80’s and there was no denying God’s Anointing on their music ministry. IMHO, Kenny Hinson was the best singer to ever hold a microphone and the Hinsons were the best group to ever take a gospel stage. It saddens my heart to know there’s a whole generation who never got to see (or maybe even hear) Kenny sing “Call Me Gone” or the group sing “The Lighthouse”. I enjoy the “new” Hinsons and other singers/genres but the Original Hinsons will always be my favorite. I cried like a baby the first time I heard Ronny Hinson’s song “At the Resurrection”, but I take comfort in knowing we’ll get to see & hear them sing again one day in a place where the “body’s well, the voice is strong, and the song will never end”. No, the circle won’t be broken….thanks for sharing. God bless you.

    • Without a doubt, the Hinsons are my favorite group. Thanks, Nan, for sharing your comments. I’ve heard some singers who sound incredibly like Kenny, but there won’t be another Kenny, IMHO. What a day we’re going to have when we all get to see the One we’ve spoken of and sang about for so many years. Surely Kenny and the Hinsons will take part in that heavenly choir!

  7. to this day-oct.25,2011 I still dont understand why Kenny had to be taken from us and I still cry. all these years and I still cant get enough of the Hinsons. thank you for letting me comment.

  8. It is 2013 and I have recently come across their music…oh my….not only were they wonderful singers but I love the way they are “feeling” what they are singing…..each one was gifted…but my oh my…have never heard a voice like Kenny’s. God told him if he would stick with him that he would give him souls for his labor……and in 2013 that is still the truth.

Leave a Reply

