preacherpen

Archive for October 1st, 2008|Daily archive page

A Word of Thanks

In A Christian Life, The Pastor's Blog on October 1, 2008 at 2:33 PM

Blogging is very new to me, and there is still so much to learn about this popular means of communication. It should be no secret about why this blog even exists, but to clarify: I am unashamedly a Christian who enjoys writing and want to share my views with anyone who takes time out of their schedules to read what I have to say. There’s a variety of topics on my blog because they interest me, and to draw people into a relationship with God and his Son, Jesus Christ. The whole blog is about the gospel – the good news. Period.

Everyone needs help occasionally, and there are two guys in particular who have offered me some great advice about blogging. They have helped in many ways, going out of their way to lend a helping hand, and for that, I am grateful. Let me thank Larry from My Take, and Doc from Two Cookies a Day. These two guys are great, and you should spend some time visiting their sites, if you haven’t already.

There is much to be thankful for, even in the days we’re living in. Although she has her problems, I still believe we live in the greatest nation on earth. That is not to demean or belittle any other place, but I, for one, and grateful to live here. Instead of bickering so much, wouldn’t it be great if all of us would take time to offer up thanks to God for all he has done in our lives? Let me add a couple of scriptures which say more than I can about being thankful:

Jonah 2:9 But I will sacrifice unto thee with the voice of thanksgiving; I will pay that that I have vowed. Salvation is of the Lord.

Philippians 4:6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.