preacherpen

Bible Study Questions – July 22

In Family Training Hour Questions, The Pastor's Blog on July 22, 2009 at 8:41 PM
Image from Christian Art

Image from ChristianArt.com

Okay, we just got home from Family Training Hour where we discussed our weekly questions. This was a particularly good lesson; the questions were not too hard, but just difficult enough to cause some extra digging. My people love this format because they have to research to find the answers, and we spend time discussing the reason(s) the answers are what they are. This is a good way to learn more about God’s wonderful word. You are welcome to join in the study with us.

  1. Where are we likened to birds escaping out of the fowler’s snares?
  2. What did God do to Judah because of Manasseh’s sins?
  3. How many sons of Saul died with him? Name them.

Don’t forget to give some background information and most certainly give the scripture reference. Now answer away!

  1. 1. The reference is in Psalm 124. It’s a short Psalm, but one of my favorites (this is NASV):

    A Song of Ascents, of David.
    “Had it not been the LORD who was on our side,”
    Let Israel now say,
    “Had it not been the LORD who was on our side
    When men rose up against us,
    Then they would have swallowed us alive,
    When their anger was kindled against us;
    Then the waters would have engulfed us,
    The stream would have swept over our soul;
    Then the raging waters would have swept over our soul.”
    Blessed be the LORD,
    Who has not given us to be torn by their teeth.
    Our soul has escaped as a bird out of the snare of the trapper;
    The snare is broken and we have escaped.
    Our help is in the name of the LORD,
    Who made heaven and earth.
    2. II Kings 21 (not as encouraging as the Psalm above)

    “Because Manasseh king of Judah has done these abominations, having done wickedly more than all the Amorites did who were before him, and has also made Judah sin with his idols; therefore thus says the LORD, the God of Israel, ‘Behold, I am bringing such calamity on Jerusalem and Judah, that whoever hears of it, both his ears will tingle. ‘I will stretch over Jerusalem the line of Samaria and the plummet of the house of Ahab, and I will wipe Jerusalem as one wipes a dish, wiping it and turning it upside down. ‘I will abandon the remnant of My inheritance and deliver them into the hand of their enemies, and they will become as plunder and spoil to all their enemies; because they have done evil in My sight, and have been provoking Me to anger since the day their fathers came from Egypt, even to this day.’”

    3. I Samuel 31:1. Saul and three of his sons died that day. Jonathan, Abinadab and Malki-Shua.

    • I must have an NASB; which one still eludes me at the moment. I want either goatskin or calfskin binding. You know me; I don’t think R. L. Allan and Sons makes one like I want, but that may change in the not-too-distant future.

      Let me just say you’ve done an excellent job here, but need to reread question #2 and search just a tad bit. My people came up with the same answer, and it’s so close.

  2. OK, I’m not sure what you’re looking for in #2. Unless it’s the exile into Babylon and the ultimate repentance of the Jews and their return to Jerusalem?

    • My people stopped at chapter 21, too, and that’s partially correct. What I’m looking for is found about 3 chapters to the right.

      • OK, chapter 24 is the fulfillment of what God said in chapter 21. He removed them from His presence and was unwilling to forgive them.

        Am I missing something?

        • Ta-da! The answer I was look for is what you said – he removed them from his sight. You are also correct about that particular move being fulfillment of prophecy. Isn’t this fun and doesn’t it make us dig to find the answers?

  3. Oh, and yes, you do need to get a New American Standard.

  4. Hey, I just checked Allan & Sons website and they have NASB listed.

    • Yes, Allan has the NASB, but it’s a Cambridge Pitt Minion edition; the font is way too small for my vision. I can read the main text, but the notes are so small, I would need a magnifying glass to read them. I’m looking for about a 10pt font at least.

      • Ah yes, I totally understand the vision problem. That’s why I like reading on my computer because I can increase the text size.

        • The Pitt Minion is an excellent edition; the quality is good and the size is wonderful, except for the font. Yes, reading at the computer has certain advantages. I do have the ESV on my iPod, and it is quite legible.

Leave a Reply

