preacherpen

The Glory of David’s 23rd Psalm – Absolute Grace

In Featured Blogs, The Pastor's Blog on June 28, 2009 at 4:58 PM

One thing I should do more often is feature other people’s blogs on my small slice of the internet. Today I want to share a blog by Linda Owens called Absolute Grace. Linda has just completed a series on one of my favorite psalms and done a marvelous job of researching the subject. Thank you, Linda.

On her site you will also find pictures by her husband, John, who is quite a remarkable photographer. Please drop by and browse around a little. Spend some time there and you will leave refreshed and encouraged.

Let me post how the ESV renders this most beautiful psalm:

The Lord Is My Shepherd

A Psalm of David.

23:1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
2 He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters. [1]
3 He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness [2]
for his name’s sake.

4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, [3]
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

5 You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies;
you anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
6 Surely [4] goodness and mercy [5] shall follow me
all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell [6] in the house of the Lord
forever. [7]

  1. I came to visit your blog through Linda, so I really have her to thank for leading me to your place.

    And yes, Psalm 23 is one of my all time favorites, and I have also appreciated the way she posted several versions, both written and sung, of this psalm. My favorite version is the one from the Scottish Psalter. I remember how we used to sing it as a grade school pupil. There is just something nostalgic about this particular version, probably because I learned to sing it as a child, and somehow the lines as rendered by that psalter are still embedded deep in my heart.

    • Hello, Lidia. There is just so much beauty in that particular psalm; words are really not quite adequate to tell how it affects so many people. Thanks to Linda I have read and heard more versions of that venerable old psalm than I ever knew existed.

      Sometimes I get in the book of Psalms and get stuck in there, not able to extricate myself from it wonder and majesty. (Not that I want to leave, mind you.) It includes such a myriad of subjects until one is overwhelmed by God’s knowledge of his creation. Praise, worship, God’s leadership and care, instruction and revelation are just some of the topics you will find while reading the Book of Psalms.

      Thank you for dropping by and making my day. Be blessed.

  2. Hello Pastor,
    Wow–was I surprised to check your blog today and see this post! I’m humbled and blessed..thank you for the encouragement!

    Regarding Psalm 23, I found one more version I really hope and pray I can post–I’ve written the publisher for permission because the copyright statement was fairly straightforward about reprint guidelines. I hope to hear from them soon and can’t wait to share it (if permitted 🙂

    Another blog reader mentioned that Keith Green recorded a very compelling version of Psalm 23.. what a wonder, not to God, but to us, that David’s prayers still inspire, still breathe hope, comfort, and assurance into our hearts today. I imagine we will sing many of them over and over in corporate worship in heaven! Such songs and inspiration have and will continue to be shared through eternity!

    Thank you for the personal accounts you share, in addition to your Bible study thoughts, and political musings. I appreciate them all!!

    Blessings to you and yours, Linda

    • Linda, you are very welcome. Your series on the 23rd Psalm was so good and a wonderful blessing. Thank you for sharing those versions of one of the most loved of all the psalms. Encouraging and uplifting, to say the least. Be blessed in all you set your hands to do.

  3. Such a peaceful Psalm. And powerful.

Leave a Reply

