preacherpen

Bible Study Questions – June 24

In Family Training Hour Questions, The Pastor's Blog on June 24, 2009 at 10:06 PM

ESV1 in Chocolate Brown & British Tan

Who’s ready for some bible study questions? Are there any who want to take the challenge and put your answers here for everyone to see? Our church is really enjoying this format for Family Training Hour, and you might enjoy the questions, too.

Again, I want to see the scripture where the answer is found, and give some details as to context. I want to know some background information. In other words, why are we here at this answer? Please feel free to elaborate, but you don’t have to write a book. Thanks for your participation.

  1. How old was Solomon when he died?
  2. How many books did David write?
  3. Where do you find a writing instrument made with a tip of a diamond?

Now, let’s see some activity around here and come up with some great answers.

  1. 1. Age of Solomon? Exact age is unclear. Looking at 2 Kings 12:24-25 “Then David comforted his wife Bathsheba, and he went to her and lay with her. She gave birth to a son, and they named him Solomon. The LORD loved him; and because the LORD loved him, he sent word through Nathan the prophet to name him Jedidiah.”, it appears that Solomon was the first child born to David and Bathsheba after the death of their first child. With this chronology (assuming David was about 50 when Solomon was born, and not knowing how long David lived after Solomon became king), this would place Solomon at about 18 years old when he took the throne and he reigned for 40 years, so he would have died around the age of 60. (1 Kings 11:42 says “Solomon reigned in Jerusalem over all Israel forty years.”)

    However, if you consider 1 Chronicles 3:5 “and these were the children born to him there: Shammua, Shobab, Nathan and Solomon”, it could be argued that Solomon was actually the 4th born after the death of the first child, which could put him between the ages of 12 and 15 when he took the throne. In that case he would have been early to mid-50s when he died.

    2. David didn’t write any of the books of the Bible, although many of the Psalms were written by him.

    3. I have no idea where to get a diamond-tipped writing instrument. I did have to pick up a diamond-tipped saw blade for my husband one time, but that doesn’t answer your question.

    Whew. Pushing my brain this morning! 😉

    • Isn’t this exciting? My people really did their homework and we had a great discussion last night. Thank you for your thorough answers. I can tell you about #3, and that is: it’s in there.

  2. Forgot another verse regarding Solomon’s age at the time he became king. In 1 Kings 3:7 it says “Now, O LORD my God, you have made your servant king in place of my father David. But I am only a little child and do not know how to carry out my duties.” Solomon refers to himself as but a little child in his prayer to God. Of course the phrase “little child” could be figurative and not a literal reference to chronological age.

  3. aha! In the King James Version, Jeremiah 17:1 it says “The sin of Judah is written with a pen of iron, and with the point of a diamond: it is graven upon the table of their heart, and upon the horns of your altars…”

    I was using New International which says:

    “Judah’s sin is engraved with an iron tool, inscribed with a flint point…”

    If I had pulled out my New American Standard I would have found it:

    “The sin of Judah is written down with an iron stylus; With a diamond point it is engraved…”

    Or the New King James:

    “The sin of Judah is written with a pen of iron; With the point of a diamond it is engraved…”

    I was using the one version that didn’t use the word diamond.

    I like these lessons … I think I would like being at your church very much.

    • And you would be most welcome at our church; actually, we’re looking for people just like you to part of what the Lord is doing. Exciting stuff!

      The ESV (my preferred version) says it like this:
      The sin of Judah is written with a pen of iron; with a point of diamond it is engraved on the tablet of their heart, and on the horns of their altars,

  4. You gotta wonder how they got both flint and diamond out of the same word. (grin)

    • Jimmy,
      Thanks for dropping by. I believe the last time I saw you was over at “Big is the New Small”, and that’s been quite a while, indeed. Yes, that would be quite tricky for mere mortals.

  5. It’s early Sunday morning here and I have time just for one blog visit and one comment. I wanted to research using my concordance for the answers to your questions. I have known that Solomon was anywhere from 12 – 18 when he became King, as we had a series about his ascendancy to the throne, as well as his decline, some years back. That he reigned for forty years is in the Bible. I couldn’t find any exact verse about his age when he became king, maybe if we use the dates mentioned, and do some math, we can come up with the answer. But I like the way he calls himself a little child when he asked God to give him wisdom, and David himself calls this son young and inexperienced, in several Bible passages about the building of Solomon’s Temple. He was not even 60 when he died, quite young.

    I’ve recently begun appreciating Solomon as one of the books he wrote, the Song of Songs has been pretty much in my daily devotional diet. I love this book, one of the three he wrote – Proverbs, Ecclesiastes and Songs.

    Songs was written early in his reign, when he was still enjoying the godly wisdom that God had given him. In this book we see just how much in love he was with God, and how God used this great king, a man of peace as his name implies, to write one of the greatest books in the Bible. Songs has lately become one of my favorite books, reading it for devotional purposes, and to receive a spiritual impartation of intimacy and hunger for more of God. The book is awesome, and that is an understatement.

    Ecclesiastes is a book written by the same man much later in his life, after a painful life of wrong choices and drifting off the path that he was on in earlier years. After all, if you have 700 wives and 300 concubines (my son used to say “porcupines”!), or is it the other way around, cynicism is bound to set in at some point. But the book helps us to avoid the many pitfalls he fell into. It is still a book of wisdom.

    And Proverbs, well this is the daily practical handbook of life. My daughter and I read a chapter a day, and it helps us go through the entire book once a month, there being 31 chapters in there. Today we will read Chapter 28, for the 28th day of this month.

    Mike Bickle says that some scholars say that these three books somehow correspond to Solomon’s Temple. The book of Proverbs would be the outer court, Ecclesiastes the Inner Court, and Songs would of course be the Holy of Holies.

    I love to read all these three books, and have great admiration for the man who wrote them. His life serves as a great example to all of us, and most of all to me. I want to be known as a woman of wisdom!

    Wow, this has become longer than I intended… well, thanks for providing the forum, and the excuse, for me to say these things.

    Have a peaceful Saturday evening over there, dear friend, as we’re off to enjoy another Lord’s Day over here in the Philippines!

    • Lidia,
      It is quite clear how much you love the writings of Solomon, David’s son and heir to his kingdom. I certainly concur with you about Solomon’s life and writing skills; what he wrote is forever chronicled in the pages of the most wonderful book ever written.

      Thank you for such a thorough analysis of Solomon’s writings. I have never heard the way Mike Bickle described Solomon’s books relating to Solomon’s Temple. That was quite interesting.

      I hope your Sunday is filled with the glory of the Lord most high and that you will find great comfort in his awesome presence.

  6. Catching up on blogs. 🙂

    Not gonna read the previous answers.

    How old was Solomon. hm. I don’t know. I’m going to say he was 75. Pure guesswork.

    How many books did David write. Is this a trick question? He didn’t write books. He wrote music. How many of the Psalms were attributed to him? I don’t know that. Somewhere around 50 I think. Oh, unless you mean the ‘books’ that Psalms is divided into? And you do mean King David, right? Of 1000 BC fame? A few of his songs appear in I and II Samuel as well.

    A writing instrument made with the tip of a diamond. Never heard that before. I’m curious. perhaps a lyre? harp? Those are the predominant Biblical musical instruments I know of.

    Ok. Those are my guesses.

Leave a Reply

