preacherpen

What an Embarrassment! – Call Me Senator

In Politics, The Pastor's Blog on June 20, 2009 at 1:30 PM

Perhaps it’s my conservative upbringing. Perhaps it’s the twenty years I spent in military uniforms. Perhaps it’s common sense. Whatever the case may be, I am appalled and embarrassed after hearing the news stories regarding Senator Barbara Boxer yesterday. If anyone needs to resign, it’s people just like her; unfortunately, there’s plenty of her ilk filling seats in the halls of congress and senate. How sad! When anyone in the senate or congress, for that matter, think so highly of themselves as to interrupt a general while he’s answering questions is just too much.

Brigadier General Michael Walsh showed great restraint in dealing with Senator Boxer’s ridiculous remark regarding her hard-earned title. How petty! I’m not much on titles anyway, but this is overboard. True to form, though, as I watched Fox news last night, I saw a Democrat pollster defend the senator’s arrogance and trivial request. It seems senators on the left side of the aisle can do no wrong.

Though I can partially understand the need for military oversight, many in the senate and congress have no clue about what needs to be done regarding the defense of our nation. To treat our military personnel the way many of our civil servants do is beyond understanding. It’s as if the military is beneath their dignity; actually, it’s probably the other way around.

There have been countless blog posts about this issue already, but I wanted to add my take on the situation. It’s frustrating to hear about the arrogance of some of those civil servants who are supposed to serve the people, but are more interested in their own agendas. It seems many of them care about nothing more than hanging on to their power: forget the common citizen and forget giving up any perks they vote for themselves.

What do you think?

  1. She has to be one of the most arrogant people I have ever seen. I can’t believe she did that.

    I tend to think these kinds of people need to walk a mile or two on someone else’s shoes before they start acting so condescending towards them.

    • Larry, the sad thing to me is the vast number of politicians who feel the same way Senator Boxer does: arrogant, condescending and loaded with a superiority complex.

      A few weeks ago I saw a bumper sticker that read “How’s that change working out for you?” My question is, “what change?”

      Brother, there’s a government coming that will be fair and just. When God sets up his throne, it will be different than what we have now. Until that time, however, we need to keep our eyes firmly fixed on the promises of God.

  2. Hi, Pastor Ron,
    I actually visited here late last night… and thought I’d visit again to watch the YouTube video you posted.

    I can’t believe what I saw and heard. Yes, maybe it’s your conservative upbringing, or your military connections… that makes you react to what she did.

    My parents sent me to an elite girls’ school in Metro Manila, which I attended for twelve years. As a young girl of five, I still remember clearly how we were drilled day in and day out on how to always speak graciously, and respectfully.

    My own father would also always remind me and my only sister — it is your speech that gives away the kind of upbringing you have. Gracious speech, kind words is the mark of a well bred and well brought up lady, the mark of “royal upbringing,” that is what he would say to us.

    And when I came to know Christ as my true Lord and Savior, the practical lessons I had on gracious speech was just augmented by the more substantial spiritual side of this — Let your speech be gracious…out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks… a gentle answer is a tree of life … guard your heart with all vigilance for out of it flows the issues of life… oh, such beautiful reminders of my early lessons I had as young girl…

    But the lessons never end, really. We always need to be constantly reminded.

    This is not to say that I learned my lessons well… the truth is I had to learn gracious speech the hard way. It is a long story, and anyway it really is not the main point here.

    Obviously the young senator has had a rough upbringing, and maybe still carries wounds from her painful past that causes her to guard her title with such vigilance!

    Honestly, it is the grace of the General, as he humbly complies with the arrogant request, that strikes my heart.

    By the way, there were two stories of mine that I had recently re-posted entitled Jacob’s Ladder and Rasa Re-visited that I would have wanted you to take time to read, if your schedule and interest allow it.

    Thank you for gracing my blog site again with your visit.

    • Lidia, as always, your kind words mean so much to me. Thank you for taking the time to both read this little blog and comment on its many topics.

      I didn’t learn respect in the military; my parents, especially Mother, taught me “yes, ma’am” and “no, ma’am” a long time ago, and the training is still a great part of my life. As you say,

      Let your speech be gracious…out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks… a gentle answer is a tree of life … guard your heart with all vigilance for out of it flows the issues of life… oh, such beautiful reminders of my early lessons I had as young girl…

      Like you, I was struck by the general’s humility in the face of a rude response by the senator. Actually, I didn’t detect an ugly tone in her voice, but the words she uttered spoke volumes about her personality. You just don’t interrupt someone as she did. She certainly could have waited until he finished his sentence; that would have been far more tolerable.

      I did look at the two re-posts, but didn’t have time to read them. Please pray for me – I’m very weak physically and don’t feel well. With the Lord’s help, I will preach a message tomorrow that will strike the hearts of those fathers who come for the morning service. We’re expecting a great crowd, and I want to give them an opportunity to know Jesus as Savior.

      Be very blessed.

      • I will be praying for you in a while as it is mid afternoon of Sunday here today, and it will be Sunday morning in Florida in just a few hours. May God’s anointing as you speak empower you to be His messenger.

        In Jesus’ name and authority I break the spirit of infirmity upon you, and come against all demonic assignments over you. I speak life, healing, restoration to you and release God’s power right now to be upon you. May God’s kingdom purposes prevail in your life today. Amen.

        • I actually am feeling better; I slept some for the first time in quite a while. More rest is on the way after service this afternoon, though. God is so good, and his servants are wonderful. Thank you, Lidia for your prayers and compassion.

  3. Well, what do you expect from our liberal senator from California? I kind of find all Democrats to be on the wrong side of God, so not much they do surprises me. They support the scam of big labor, abortion, entitlements to subjugate their base, homosexual marriage and rights…. I will give Boxer some credit for standing up to the telecom immunity legislation in regards to how the nation is spying on us, and I work for one of those telecoms. Of course it was probably calculated knowing it would pass and she would still get their lobbying money.

    The really important thing to watch is the eyes which are the windows to the soul. So do we think she was just being her usual narcissistic self and didn’t like maam, or was there a darker motive with trying to upset the general or give a warning? Could just be a liberal disrespect of the military, but she seems to always act with purpose and direction as she is about her father’s business here on earth.

    Hey, maybe this comment is too treal,🙂. (truth + real for the slang deprived)

    • Good to hear from you, Bugz. No, there is certainly not much to surprise me here, though I would expect at least a bit of decorum from a senator. Wait a minute, that might just be a stretch.

      She should have waited until the BG finished his sentence, at the very least. She’s probably not even embarrassed by all the stir over her snide remarks, and that’s a shame.

  4. Perhaps the general should, in the future, remember to bow low to the ground and await permission from Her Senatorliness before he rises?

    To an extent, I figure this isn’t that big a shock — people have come to treat “ma’am” as a derogatory term rather than the honorific that it is. I assume he was calling the other Senators “sir,” after all. Still, it’s plain to see that she overreacted and owes him an apology.

    I won’t hold my breath on that.

    • Wickle, if you do hold your breath on this one, you might just run out and have to fall over. Best not do that.

      As I said before – Term Limits – much shorter for people like her!

  5. When I saw that video, I wanted one of those punching bags you use to work out with in the Gym.

    She was insulting, degrading, and arrogant. But mostly she was dismissive of a man who has given more than she could even begin to understand.

    I will stand with the General any day of the week!

    BTW – even after being out of the military for 20 years, I still say ma’am and sir. It’s part of my character now!

    • Dominique, there are some people left who know the importance of good manners. Thanks for being one of them!

      I’m with you on this one. It’s already been mentioned, but what really got me was the rudeness she showed the BG. When Mrs. Boxer said she had worked very hard for her title, I could hardly believe my ears. What in the world was she talking about, anyway?

      • I think, my personal opinion, that was a feminist statement. Most feminist – the liberal ones – not the ones like me – don’t like to be called ma’am. My guess is she was offended that a man degraded her by calling her ma’am.

        You know. I am really getting tired of these government officials that are so full of themselves that they don’t think about anyone but themselves. I’m so ready to vote out some of these people.

        If Americans don’t vote these people, then we will be to blame for what comes.

        You might want to read this article. It is a little long but it is a well-worth the read.

        http://www.russellmeansfreedom.com/2009/china-russia-india-meet-to-dump-the-dollar/

        • Dominique, you’re so right. I believe we can vote our opinions at the ballot box; it’s time America wakes up and sees what the liberal loons are doing to America. I would love to see Senators Boxer, Reed, and many like them just get out of government and do something constructive for a change. They are not what our country needs during these trying times; unfortunately, so many Americans are blind and don’t see it. There are scores who are still enamored with the president and think he can do no wrong.

          Look up, though, as our hope is not in government but it is in the name of the Lord!

Leave a Reply

