preacherpen

Florida Campmeeting 2009 – 100 Years of Holy Ghost Power

In A Christian Life, Family, The Pastor's Blog on June 11, 2009 at 2:45 PM

The Florida Campmeeting is in full swing, and God’s power and presence has permeated the place from the outset. As the title declares, we are celebrating the 100th anniversary of the grandfather of all Church of God campmeetings. The first such meeting was in 1909, and has blossomed into a large gathering of people from all over the world who come to be a part of this great event.

If you’ve never attended a Church of God campmeeting, you really need to. Let me encourage you to find one in your area and make plans to go. When you get there, participate in worship, fellowship and meet new friends. I promise, you won’t regret the effort you put into your experience. There is Spirit anointed singing, teaching, preaching and lives changed by God’s great power.

Campmeeting flyer

Campmeeting flyer

  1. Sounds like a fired-up time!

    • Annie,
      I don’t even have words to describe all the wonderful things God did for us during this great campmeeting. During last night’s service, we saw a record-breaking attendance for the youth choir; there were over 1,300 teens. I’ll write more later.

  2. Wish I’d been there. I could use some refreshment. I’m looking forward to hearing more about it.

    • Kerry,
      I wish you had been there, too. There’s absolutely nothing like our Church of God campmeetings; excitement and the power of God’s presence fills the air and you leave tired in body but refreshed in the spirit.

      • That is so true! I have only been able to go once or twice. I need to make it an priority next year! It\’s difficult when you\’re bi-vocational. What a great way to begin your summer, though. 🙂

        • eb,
          I can remember Sister P and me taking our vacation time on more than one occasion just to be in campmeeting, but not everyone can do that. Should the Lord tarry and you are able to go next year, you won’t regret making the effort. Big Daddy would certainly enjoy those pastor’s breakfasts, which always include teaching sessions. All I can say is “wow!”

  3. Thank you for dropping by my blog site tonight and reading some of my recent posts. Thank you especially for the response you left on “A New Day Dawning.”

    I’m sure I would have loved the campmeeting you just attended. Five days… wow!

    Did you know that there was a time when we were praying for Florida? This was a few years back when there was some trouble during the elections. We were praying for specific “gates” – and Florida is a strategic gate. So is the Philippines.

    I’ve actually been to Florida, did I tell you before? I attended the International Conference of Family Foundations International in Bradenton in 2003. I sense in my spirit that Florida is one of the places in your country that has a special anointing for the last days. Colorado is another (Colorado Springs, esp.) I will never forget how the shooting in that school in Littleton really shook us, and had us in tears for the many young lives that were so violently snuffed out.

    A few years ago we had our version of THE CALL here in our country, we call it JESUS REVOLUTION. The Father is really raising the youth for the end time global revival just before Jesus comes back for His bride. This explains why the youth are really on fire. We’ve had Lou Engle, Che An, Cindy Jacobs, Francis Frangipane and many others come and visit our country. Stacey Campbell explained that it is the 30s and under that God is really raising to be the Joel’s Army for these strategic period of history.

    I could go on and on about these things, Pastor Ron. So I better end right here.

    Blessings on your new day! Looking forward to what you will be sharing about the moving of the Holy Spirit at the camp meetings.

    • Lidia,
      No, I didn’t know you had been to Florida before; thank you so much for praying for us. There is something special going on here, and many are getting in to see what the Lord is doing in these last days.

      My wife and I moved back home to Florida in 2003 and attended our first campmeeting that year. What an awesome time we had in the Lord! It was also bittersweet, as we had to leave the campgrounds to go to Orlando and attend to my mother; she was deathly sick at the time. She went to her heavenly home two years ago during campmeeting week.

      No doubt about it, God is raising an army of Spirit-filled believers who will carry the message of salvation to every corner of the globe. Jesus told us to make disciples, not just get people to the Cross. We need the power of the Spirit in order to fulfill God’s calling on our lives, and times of refreshing, such as what we receive at campmeetings, are given to strengthen the saints.

      It’s not just for the preachers, either. Lidia, one thing that really struck home to me is the fact the tabernacle was packed each night, and even the morning services had large crowds. Recession or not, people believed God for provision, and he came through! Isn’t our God wonderful?

  4. […] Neson Signature Series, R. L. Allan and Sons, Thompson Chain by preacherpen While at the Florida Campmeeting last week, I found some great bargains at the bookstore, and would like to share them with you. One […]

  5. @e.b.: Yes, Matt saw us there and we talked for a while. One good thing about campmeeting is getting to visit with friends you don’t normally see.

    I’m convinced campmeeting is needful, especially in the days we’re living in. I’m so thankful for the opportunity to be a part of it.

  6. […] be akin to describing a Big Mac as a five-course meal. Several of our people came home from the Florida Campmeeting refreshed and with a new perspective on the kingdom of God. The Lord really did move on us as we […]

  7. […] this day for several weeks, and today finally happened. After hearing Dr. Owen Weston at our Florida Campmeeting this year, I became acutely aware of the need to reach out to the community more than ever before. […]

  8. […] I don’t believe it was an accident he was chosen by our youth group. They had seen him at the Florida Campmeeting a couple of years ago as he preached the Friday Youth Night service. He brought a powerful, on-time […]

Leave a Reply

