preacherpen

Bible Study Questions – June 3

In A Christian Life, Family Training Hour Questions, The Pastor's Blog on June 3, 2009 at 10:32 PM

Before getting to the questions for tonight, I would like to give you some information about the day’s events. We’ve had our 5-year old grandson with us for about a week and it was time to take him home. My wife would normally have made the trip, but she wasn’t feeling well this morning and I volunteered.

The boy and I left about 8 a.m. this morning, and I got home after 7 p.m. this evening. I only spent about 40 minutes with my daughter before having to get back in the truck for the return trip. What a day! Our grandson did very well; he played with toys and his Nintendo whatchacallit pretty much the whole trip. It was funny, because every now and then the cab would be filled with “Pappy, why does it have to take so long?” It must be difficult for a little fella to ride all those hours in the back seat, strapped in and not able to go anywhere.

I left my wife to handle the teaching duties tonight, something she is well able to do, BTW. A couple of hours before service she called me while I was navigating through some very heavy rain and told me she had called and cancelled service due to the inclimate weather. We have some who just have a hard time in bad weather, and I was fine with her decision.

Following are the questions we would have gone over tonight. I won’t post questions this coming Wednesday night as my wife and I will be at the Florida Campmeeting in Wimauma, Florida. What a great time in the Lord we will have: singing, hearing outstanding, Holy Ghost anointed preaching and teaching, fellowship and generally receiving instead of pouring out all during the year. It’s a time of refreshment and battery charging we look forward to each year.

  1. Where is the story of a captain being trampled at a gate of the city of Samaria?
  2. During a time of temple repair, who found a book of the law?
  3. Which prophet invited people to buy and eat wine and milk without money and price?

As always, please give chapter and verse. If you can’t do that, please give some details about why you believe you have the correct response. Again, I won’t give the right answers; thay way you can leave comments without me interfering. If you want to contact me for the answers I have, you are more than welcome to do so. Happy studying!

  1. 1) Well … where. In Kings I think. Covers 2 books. 🙂 I know the story, though!

    2) I believe that was Nehemiah. But it might have been Ezra.

    3) Isaiah. Chapter 61.

    • Okay, okay. I haven’t looked up my other answers to check, but I really wasn’t 100% sure about #3. And it’s as well … it’s chapter 55.

      • Uh. Looks like I was wrong on #2.

        • Isn’t this fun? I’m going to attempt getting questions together and giving them to my people during the Sunday night service. That way they’ll have quite some time to look up the answers as my wife and I will be out of town for a week. So, what do you think, should I make them harder than usual because they will have more time?

        • Hm. Well, what is the dynamic of the group you’re giving them to? Is this the whole church? A specific group? I would say unless you’ve got a group of hard-core Bible studiers to have the questions ranked and offer ‘easy’ ‘medium’ and ‘hard’ questions. Perhaps 2? of each. Make the easy ones really easy to hook people into attempting an answer. If they’re discouraged right off the bat they probably won’t try. But if they get the easy ones they’ll probably progress to the next and so on. It may even work if you offer some kind of incentive for anyone who answers over a certain amount of them, or something. Everyone likes prizes. 🙂 Well, those are my two cents!

  2. Annie, you’ve presented some great observations. The study questions are for the sanctuary class which is everyone who doesn’t go to youth and young adults classes. The folk I give questions to are mature Christians who love to study and enjoy the challenge.

Leave a Reply

