preacherpen

Bible Study Questions

In A Christian Life, Family Training Hour Questions, The Pastor's Blog on May 13, 2009 at 9:06 PM

This is a new feature and all are welcome to participate. Each week I will be posting questions asked during our weekly Wednesday night service. You can post your answers if you would like to join the discussion. I want to know the particular scripture where the answer is found. Let’s begin:

  1. Where do you find a list of the gifts of the Spirit? How many are listed? Name them.
  2. Where do you find a list of the fruit of the Spirit? How many are listed? Name them.
  3. Which prophet prayed for a king and had to go back inside before leaving the palace? Where is it found?

To clarify even further, our church reviewed these questions tonight, so I won’t post new question until after we’ve answered them. That way, it’s an even playing field.

Now, go study and find the answers! One thing is certain, this will help anyone who wants to study dig deeper in the word.

  1. 1. The gifts of the Spirit are listed in 1 Corinthians 12:8-10. Nine gifts are listed: Word(s) of Wisdom, Word(s) of Knowledge, Gift of Faith, Gifts of Healing, Gift of Miracles, Gift of Prophecy, Gift of Discernment, Gift of Tongues, Gift of Interpretation (of Tongues).

    2. The “nine fruits” of the Spirit are listed in Galatians 5:21-23: love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness and temperance!

    Those I know right off. I’m off to dig deeper for the answer to question #3.

    • This is the easy week. We’ve already done: who was Samson’s mother and which prophet refused to curse the children of Israel?

      • rrrg. can’t think of Samson’s mother’s name. the prophet is Balaam. Although … only partially refused … before he accepted … but was never able to actually do it.

  2. Did you mean to post the same question twice?

    I would have answered but eb beat me to it. 😉

    In 2 Kings 20 we learn the story of King Hezekiah who was prayed for by the prophet Isaiah. After praying for the King, Isaiah was leaving the palace when the Lord spoke to him and told him to go back and tell the King that the Lord has heard his prayers.

    And not to be an overacheiver but I’m not certain that we ever know the name of Samson’s mother. In Judges 13 she is only referred to as Manoah’s wife.

    I’ll leave the prophet that refused to curse the children of Israel for somebody else. 😀

    • AJs_Dad,
      The two questions involve gifts of the Spirit and fruit of the Spirit. I probably won’t reply to each comment; that will give everyone a chance to answer even if they give the same answer as someone else. I don’t know why I should be concerned about that, though, as few people leave comments here. Oh, well!

      Would that be Mrs. Manoa?

  3. Gentlemen:

    Ah! Hezekiah and Isaiah!

    I was just reading about Samson’s parents, and his mother is only referred to as Manoah’s wife, AJsDad is right. So I think Mrs. Manoah is entirely appropriate. 😉 It’s a shame we never learn her name because she seems to be quite a devout follower of Jehovah! Too bad her son was such a mess and did not have the steadfast devotion to the Lord and His righteousness as his parents did!

    Balaam was the prophet who refused to curse the children of Israel, his story in in Numbers 22.

  4. I apologize. I guess my brain just missed the gifts and the fruits in the questions.

    Well this is at least a fun way to try and get people to comment.

    eb: I completely agree with you about Mrs. Manoah. She has quite a testimony.

    • I can hardly wait to post next week’s questions. As I said before, my people really enjoy this Wednesday night format and have even gotten others involved with the study. It’s good when there’s excitement about God’s word, don’t you think?

  5. Okay, I haven’t read any of the comments, so I’m answering from memory.

    Thankfully I am studying gifts of the Spirit right now (and posting about them) so I know that gifts of the Spirit are referenced in Romans 12, 1 Corinthians 12, and Ephesians 4. The fruits of the Spirit are love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self control. Ephesians 5:22 I believe. (And I think that’s NIV translation. The prophet that had to go back in to talk to the king … well, the king was Hezekiah. The prophet was … For some reason ‘Nahum’ is uppermost in my mind, but I really don’t think that’s who it was. Perhaps it was Isaiah? I didn’t think it was one of the ‘big’ prophets, though. I’d have to look that up. Where is it found … I cannot give chapter here. I believe the story would be referenced in 2 Kings. And possibly 2 Chronicles as well. Those are relative guesses.

    Good questions! I like good trivia. 🙂

  6. Oh oops. name the gifts.

    Romans 12 names service, teaching, gifts, exhortation, prophecy, leadership, and mercy.

    1 Corinthians names prophecy, word of knowledge, word of wisdom, faith, various kinds of miracles, gifts of healings, various kinds of tongues, interpretation of tongues, and …. gosh, one more that’s slipping my mind. Haven’t gotten to these yet.

    Ephesians 4 lists apostle, evangelist, prophet, pastor, teacher.

    • Aha discernement! Eb got it up there. And I was right with Isaiah! Who knew. I only guessed Isaiah because he referenced some of his prophecies as ‘during the __ year of the reign of king Hezekiah’ so I knew he was a prophet during his reign.

Leave a Reply

