preacherpen

Great-Great Grandfather’s Headstone Dedication

In Family, The Pastor's Blog on May 11, 2009 at 8:20 PM

My wife and I were honored to attend the headstone dedication of my great-great grandfather, Private Robert Henry Parish, 1st Florida Calvary, Co. “A”, on Saturday, May 9, 2009. This event was presented by the Granville Beville Chapter No. 2234 of the United Daughters of the Confederacy.
IMG_0317

It was quite an interesting service which included personnel from various camps and organizations around the state of Florida. There were members of the General Jubal A. Early Camp #556, SCV, Colonel John Marshall Martin Camp #730, SCV, and Tampa Bay Pipes and Drums represented at the dedication.

IMG_0304
Rifle Salute
IMG_0306
Piper: Elijah Balser, Tampa Bay Pipes & Drums
IMG_0310
“Dixie” played on a banjo
IMG_0318
Me with some of the men in uniform.
IMG_0321
My Aunt Peggy and me. She is the Granville Beville Chapter #2234 president.
IMG_0313
Mrs. Eloise Pitts in the bonnet.

I hope you enjoy the photos from the dedication. You would need to have been there to grasp the feeling of the moment. The 21-gun salute, taps, banjo playing, poetry reading and bagpipes all made for a dramatic morning. Special thanks, too, for the food and fellowship at Aunt Jewel Stancell’s house after the ceremony.

  1. Those are some good photos, Ron. We finally get to see what you look like and that’s cool. It sounds like you and your family had a very good time at the dedication. Thanks for sharing it all with us.

    • Thanks, Larry. I really don’t like cameras taking pictures of me, because there’s a plot associated with all of them. They make me look heavier than I’m supposed to be. I hope you got the pun! Yes, we had a great time, and it was good to meet some people I’ve never met, though some of them are kin. It was good talking with people I know but haven’t seen in years, too.

      I spoke with some of the men in uniform, and I’ve got to tell you, that wool is thick and heavy. I can’t imagine August or September with those heaters on my body. Whew! I even got to hold one of the rifles and got a history lesson on it as well. Very interesting.

  2. The pictures you posted are meaningful. It must have been a really significant moment for you and the rest of family who were there. Loved the photos of the gun salute, the bagpiper in his Scottish kilt, the banjo, and all those men in uniform… I really do love looking at pictures of historical moments, though I’m not too good in history itself. I just like pictures with stories behind them.

    Great post, and thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks, Lidia. Yes, it was a significant moment; my wife and I were so thankful my aunt invited us to be a small part of that historical event. One of the important elements of the dedication is something which can’t be posted or shared, and that is the smell of the gun powder along with the sound of the rifle blast. You had to be there. BTW, I haven’t forgotten about being tagged, but haven’t found time to post about it.

  3. What a special day, and a meaningful tribute. Thanks for sharing it with us, I enjoyed the pictures.

    • Yes, e.b., it was a meaningful day. You take much better pictures than yours truly, but I do enjoy taking them. Wish you could have been there.

  4. Nice pictures! I’m sure it was an awesome time!

    Good to ‘see’ you as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

