preacherpen

Pastor Appreciation Day – May 3, 2009

In A Christian Life, The Pastor's Blog on May 5, 2009 at 9:43 PM

There’s really no way to describe the day we had at Liberty Lighthouse Church of God today as the congregation and friends honored my wife and me. It was our day to relax and enjoy wonderful fellowship and the presence of the Lord along with everyone else. Understand, we always enjoy the presence of the Lord, but this time we were asked to sit back and others would carry the load, which they did quite admirably.
IMG_0244

Our children sang a song for my wife and me; you should have been there to see it. For your viewing pleasure, just click on this Facebook link. Those little ones sang their hearts out and we sure enjoyed hearing them. Our granddaughter is the one on the far right. She’s a tender-hearted little girl who shows her emotions in a powerful way.IMG_0232

A dear friend of ours, Sister Connie Beck, preached a powerful message about the role of a pastor. She spoke both from personal experience as a pastor’s wife and knowing my wife and me since before we were married. Sister Connie has a wonderful anointing on her life and speaks with a strong voice about things she is compassionate about. Our people were not only blessed to hear this woman of God, they were also challenged by what she had to say.

IMG_0254

Our drama team was also included in the service, and they really did an outstanding job. They give everything they have when performing, and our people were moved by the dramas they chose to perform. When they blessed us with the one about God breaking chains off those who have been so bound by the power of the devil, the people were deeply moved. They really outdid themselves.IMG_0236

For those of you who are not familiar with Pastor Appreciation Day, let me explain something to y0u that might give you and idea of why we like them so much. Our church ladies certainly can cook, and that’s a big part of this grand event. After the morning service, we made our way to where the meal and tables had been set up. The people outdid themselves making the room look festive and comfortable. I was really pleased as there were orange and blue table cloths scattered around for all to enjoy. Orange and blue, you ask? Go, Gators!

There were so many people who made this day happen, it would be impossible to thank them all. I don’t have pictures of all of them, either. To those of you who worked so tirelessly to make this a special day for the Liberty Lighthouse Church of God and my wife and me, thank you. You will never know how much this means to us.

  1. Remember your leaders, those who spoke to you the word of God. Consider the outcome of their way of life, and imitate their faith. (Heb 13:7) I am so glad your congregation honored you and your wife.

    God Bless
    Robin

    • Robin,
      Oh, how I love God’s word! My people do, too. They really showed my wife and me how much they love us. I love the scripture you quoted.

  2. Thanks for all you do online and offline! You are very much appreciated and respected! God bless!

  3. What a HEARTWARMING post. Loved what your church did for you…the songs of your grandchildren, the affirmation, the encouragement, the honor… the food … THE LOVE!

    I have a very high regard for pastors. My husband and many of my close friends are on the pastoral staff of our church. It is not an easy position to hold or even aspire for.

    Congratulations!

    Thank you too for visiting my blog. I know you are busy man, so your visit is always greatly appreciated.

    And by the way, you’ve been tagged! Visit my May 7 post. Thanks!

    • Thank you, Lidia. It was a wonderful day, Words cannot express how much my wife and I appreciate all the effort that was put into making it a special day. The Lord certainly approves of such things.

      Okay, I’ve been tagged and will definitely visit your blog. BTW, it’s always a joy to read your excellent posts.

  4. How lovely! I’m so glad you were blessed so much. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

