preacherpen

My Birthday Post

In A Christian Life, Family on March 25, 2009 at 7:14 AM

It finally arrived, but was not really asked for. These things come once a year whether you want them or not. Mind you, the alternative is not something I really want, but one day we will all face the reality of death.

Honestly, when I was much younger, me being 56 never even entered into my thoughts. In fact, people that old were just …. old. As I’ve grown older, I’ve realized 56 is not terribly old; there’s still plenty of life left in this older body, and if the Lord will grant more grace, there’s still plenty left to do.

I’ve been planning on taking my pet mongoose to the coffee club today; it should be lots of fun. I wish you could be here with us. Larry, if you’re reading this, just hop in your Learjet and come on over. BTW, I’ll also take some Boston Butt BBQ to share with those unfortunate souls who didn’t buy one a couple of Saturdays ago. It’s so good!

It’s not difficult to give thanks to the Lord for all the marvelous things he’s done in my life. I’m so blessed with a wonderful wife, twin daughters and a son-in-law, grandchildren, a great church, good friends, good health, and, most of all, salvation given by a loving heavenly Father. No doubt about it, I’m a blessed man.

Romans 11:33 declares:

O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! how unsearchable are his judgments, and his ways past finding out!

  1. Praying and believing that the year ahead of you, your 56th one, will be the best one so far, especially as you enter the season of reaping and harvesting what you’ve sown and invested in!

    By the way, I’ll also be writing my own birthday post very soon.

    Blessings on your new year…

    • Thanks, Lidia. I’m believing God will grant a great harvest this year for both of us. May the Lord richly bless all you set your hands to do.

  2. Well I haven’t “known” you very long through your blog but I do love birthdays (just not mine).

    The way I see it birthdays are a celebration of the special people God has put across our path.

    So I will join in the chorus of wishing you a the Happiest of Days today and a Blessed Year until the next time.

  3. Happy birthday, Pastor Ron. I hope you have a good one and I wish I was there to join in the fun.

    • Thanks, everyone. I had a lot of fun at the Coffee Club today, then I went to Chik-fil-A to read my bible and have a biscuit and gravy. You just can’t do better than reading the Word of God.

  4. Happy Birthday Ron!

    and good luck on that mongoose/coffee club thing. haha

  5. Cool! Happy birthday one day late. Mongoose–!??!?!? HA, luvit….Riki-Tiki-Tavi and all that — first picture i’ve seen of one. We don’t get St. Patrick but one day a year, hopefully this little guy will keep at least the EARTHLY snakes away…. 😉

    • Marty,
      Great to see you here. Great fun was had by all at both the coffee club and Chik-fil-A. Thankfully, there were no earthly snakes to get rid of. There are, however, many of the other kind wandering around to be dealt with.

  6. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! (belated)
    The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.
    🙂

  7. I’m interested in more on the Mongoose. Looks like they’re illegal in the U.S., so I’m guessing you have a special permit. I was thinking it might be another animal we’re excluded from having just here in California like ferrets, :). What’s the little guy like as a pet? Any interesting behaviors? What do you feed him?

Leave a Reply

