preacherpen

100th Post With Questions

In A Christian Life, The Pastor's Blog on March 18, 2009 at 4:07 PM

Yesterday marked the 100th post of my first and only blog – From Preacherpen’s Desk. It has been both challenging and fun over the last several months, and I have learned quite a lot about the wonderful world of blogging. There is no way to thank everyone who has stopped by and left comments on subjects of interest; it is appreciated more than you know.

It’s easy to see From Preacherpen’s Desk isn’t in the top tier in relation to statistics. At 2:41 PM today there had been 22,566 pageviews and 608 approved comments. It’s more than I ever thought possible, but far from where I want to be.

I will not attempt to recognize everyone who has made a positive impact on my blogging experience, with one exception. Larry from My Take and Doc from Two Cookies a Day sort of took me under their wings and helped with several issues that initially plagued me. Thanks are definitely in order. I haven’t seen Doc since December, but Larry is still blogging with the best of the bunch.

Ideally, my goal is to show the contents of this blog to a large audience from diverse backgrounds. I do not have only one group of readers in mind; rather, the topics range from the gospel of Jesus Christ to politics and several others in between. There’s really enough here to satisfy a wide range of needs; it is not a repository for every topic under the sun, and never has been.

Over the last several months, I’ve visited so many blogs and lost count a long time ago. Most of them were informative and provoked thought in me, while others made me wonder how peope could even think the way they do. There are several sites on my blogroll and my RSS readers is loaded with those sites I frequent. The net is a marvelous thing, don’t you think?

Here are some observations about my blogging experience so far (in no particular order). I’ll try coming back here occasionally to add to the list:

  1. There are some brilliant people who love to blog.
  2. Most of the blogs I visit have that “welcome mat” feeling – everyone is allowed to come in and leave comments.
  3. There are incredible people all over the world who blog and have a common connection. I am so blessed to have met some of the nicest people on the planet. Thanks for being you.
  4. Interacting with our community of bloggers is sometimes easier than talking with people face-to-face. Really, it shouldn’t be that way, but it is, nonetheless.
  5. Some bloggers suffer from the “I’m the center of the universe” syndrome. You leave thoughtful comments on their blogs, but they never return the favor.
  6. Some bloggers are quick to take offense and let their comments overload what would otherwise be a sensible conversation.
  7. Some bloggers have little or no sense of protocol. By that I mean some things which should be taken care of privately are thrown out in the open for all the world to see.

One of the questions plaguing me now is: how do you get people to comment on your blog? Perhaps I didn’t make it clear from the beginning that people are welcome to read and leave comments. Of course, there are boundaries and common sense is the order of the day. Profanity is not allowed in any way. Offensive language is not allowed, either. Basically, this is a Christian site, and is meant to reflect the morals of a Christian walk.

Another question: how do I make this site a better experience for those who visit? As you can clearly see, there is a variety of subject matter to browse through. Hopefully there is something here which will grab your attention enough for you to stop and read. Blogging is a personal venture, and this blog reflects my personality. I am not going to change who I am, but I am certainly teachable.

Thank you for dropping by my little slice of the net. You are welcome here any time. Come often and bring friends with you.

Pastor Ron

  1. Hi there! I was blog browsing today and came across your blog with this post. What a fun post to “walk into”.

    I’m not entirely new at blogging but I would say that I am still “wet behind the ears”. So, I’ve been trying to build up my blog network. So, I blog browse a lot.

    Anyway, I found your observations entertaining and interesting. Now I’m not sure if I am a brilliant person but I know that lately I have enjoyed having the outlet to vent and post my thoughts and ideas on. I would hope that my little piece of the blog world was one that was welcoming. I have a pretty easy time talking to people face to face but it has been interesting while blog browsing to “meet” other people outside of my area and to get some different perspectives. A good friend of mine and co-worker who also blogs made a post a while ago concerning commenting that kind of sounded like the antithesis of your observation on commenting. At any rate I keep her post in mind when I visit and I try to make comments so that the blogger knows I have been there. Kind of like what I am doing now.

    I don’t have a counter on my blog so I honestly don’t know if I get very many visitors or not. I know I don’t get much in the way of comments either (which would be a good gauge to see if I’m reaching anybody). I know I’ve posted concerning some pretty provocative subjects. But like I said I enjoy having the outlet. Anyway, I’d also be interested in any suggestions on how to get the comments going.

    Since I just visited your blog for the first time I can’t help you on your second question. So I guess that’s all from me. This was just a long way of saying, “James was here!” 😉

    • James,
      Thank you so much for dropping by and leaving your thoughtful comments. I dropped by your slice of the net, and will visit again very soon (getting ready for Church tonight). AJ’s Dad must be a wonderful person.

  2. Pastor Ron,

    I appreciate the word of thanks and the kind words about my blog. I am certainly nothing special and what I did for you was only what others did for me, namely Kerry over at One Mom. I have always found your blog a welcome place to visit and you always write very well, no matter if it’s about Jesus, politics, or Linux.

    As for getting people to comment on your blog, that is a mystery to me as well. All I can tell you is to keep writing and they will eventually come. You are doing a fine job. I still remember the day I first stumbled onto your blog and read one of your articles about Linux. I have been hooked ever since.

    Keep up the good work.

    • Larry,
      Thanks for the wonderful words of encouragement you’ve given on more than one occasion; they mean more to me than you will ever know. It’s good to know people read what you take the time to write.

      I’ve been so wrapped up with busy things over the last couple of weeks until it’s been difficult to actively blog like I normally would. My wife and I have been helping our daughter and son-in-law get settled into their home. Naturally, the grandchildren’s rooms had to get some attention, too. Then, getting the Boston Butt BBQ together took some time, too.

      In a week or so, I’ll be able to devote more time to visiting the blogs I really enjoy.

  3. Congratulations on your 100th post. Indeed it calls for a celebration… and you are so right about the observations you enumerated. Blogging will inevitably lead one to meet all kinds of people on blog world. I personally feel that when people visit, they should not just tiptoe around somebody’s “site,” reading without acknowledging, like someone came over to your mind and heart and just left without saying a word… On the other hand, it is still a free country, and there are really no hard and fast rules. Like you, I just want to let courtesy rule my actions whenever I do blog visits. WHen someone visits my blog, I want to return the visit, not because I have to, but because I want to. It’s like returning a favor… There are so many nice and decent and sweet people out here in blog world. I never even expected this when I started blogging a year ago. I actually came across your blog on Absolute Grace’s blog… and met other bloggers that way, but clicking on the blog titles in other people’s blog sites! It’s been a wonderful experience, and I surely can relate to everything that you said on your blog.

    You obviously are an intelligent person, someone who thinks out his faith and beliefs, and one with a wide range of interests. Not a narrow minded religious fanatic… so bloggers from all walks of life feel welcome to browse around your blog. I particularly enjoyed the link you had on leather journals and moleskins. I might even order one for myself one of these days.

    Again, congratulations.

    • Lidia,
      You are so kind and are just the person I had in mind when describing the wonderful people out there in the blogoshpere. As I sit here typing, a thought just came to me regarding a television show I saw over a year ago. It chronicled the history of Honda motorcycles; do you remember the commercial “You meet the nicest people on a Honda?” I wouldn’t know much about that, but I do know about meeting the nicest people while blogging!

      Yes, the leather journals call out to me from time to time. I’ve never owned a Moleskine journal before, but have thought about getting one. It’s time to start journaling once again.

      I must take the time to visit some of my favorite sites today, and that includes yours. Thanks for being “you.”

  4. Preacher Ron,
    I really enjoy your blog, I agree with so much of what you post (except the Linux stuff which I don’t understand-lol), I don’t know what to say sometimes other than: ITA! ITA! (I Totally Agree!) I could also echo much of what others have written above – you have made your corner of the blogosphere a welcoming place, where one can be encouraged & provoked to think. I also think more folks will come in time. You have much more traffic than I do – so be thankful for that and keep on bloggin’. We❤ you!
    Congratulations on your 100th post!🙂

    • eb,
      You wrote such kind words, and I’m grateful. What? You don’t do the Linux stuff? I’m confused about your confusion regarding the subject of a superior computer operating system.🙂

      Yes, this blog is open to all who want to drop by. Hopefully, there is enough diverse subject matter to satisfy any number of people. You may not remember, but I was elated to find out you were blogging when I first started. You encouraged me. Thanks.

  5. I agree with Eb … when I see “linux” or “mepis” in a blog title over here (and at Larry’s), I run screaming back to the security of my blog. 😉 I might read those posts, but nobody ever delivered on that pork!

    A couple things I’ve picked up in my blogging (these are free!):

    1. I started blogging in 2007 because I wanted to help Mike Huckabee in his run for the presidency. That obviously helped boost my presence initially.
    2. Even during Mike’s campaign, I learned that posting about some random issue – totally unrelated to my normal topics – was a great way to drive traffic and bring in new visitors and friends. I did one post a long time ago about a waterspout off the Delaware coast. That post continues to bring in new visitors everyday as people search Google for the word “waterspout”. My posts about spam meat, Tim Tebow, basset hounds and sussex spaniels all continue to drive a lot of traffic as well. Posts I thought were insignificant, prove to be huge door-openers.
    3. New posts bring traffic as well. I know when I’ve been busy, or when we’re all sick, my traffic drops like a rock if there’s nothing fresh, no matter how small or trivial that post might seem. Even a brief post from you with some encouragement or new insight from God’s word could boost traffic and comments.

    OK, that’s my insight. Congrats on the 100th post!

    • Kerry,
      You are too funny, and I’m glad you dropped in again. See, you can read about Linux and still be sane enough to write a wonderful comment. I have confidence in you that both e.b. and you will one day come out from the table into the marvelous light of Linux!

      My posts about Linux seem to steadily produce good traffic, and that’s great. In fact, they are my biggest hits; people come here for that reason, but often snoop around and find what I consider the most important part of the blog – posts about the mercy and grace of God.

      Okay, I’ve been duly encouraged. I must find time to write more often. There are scores of topics and ideas floating around in my head; it’s time to put them on electronic paper.

  6. Ron,
    I have noticed the same effect that Kerry mentioned. If there are no new posts for a few days, the traffic goes down drastically. I meant to mention that in my comment and failed to do so. Good idea, Kerry.

    • Yes, Larry, I’ve got to do better with new posts. BTW, you wouldn’t hop in your Learjet to come here for some BBQ and you missed the pancake breakfast we had Saturday, too. Pancakes, sausage, biscuits and gravy and the whole works. Mmmmmm! That’s what you get for staying in OK.

  7. Sounds good, Ron. My jet was out of fuel, so it was grounded.😉

    • I’m quite certain you can get a bail out in order to get your jet fueled. You might be able to catch a ride with a certain speaker, if you know what I mean!

  8. Hi! First, congrats on your 100th post!! A great milestone! I enjoy your site and love the variety of issues, links and new you offer. I think that appeals to me most–being a self-diagnosed over-multi-tasker (or maybe just ADHD), I love clicking on this and that to find what/who you’re reading, what your interests are, what your foundation is (our Lord!), and more… Thanks for sharing all of this!

    I’ve only been in the blogging realm for a year, so it’s still ALL new to me, too. As you said, it’s a learning experience, finding new links, photos, ideas, ‘meeting’ people, discovering interesting books, articles, new music etc! I don’t post as often as I’d like–probably because I’m a perfectionist-usually my drafts start in pen and ink.

    Well, I don’t want to bore you with all that. Just want to encourage you to keep on! Even if people don’t stop to comment, they are still being ministered to! It’s a blessing to find light, salt, and the fragrant aroma of Christ in this medium…Thanks for sharing! In Him, Linda

    • Linda,
      What kind words you offer; thanks for adding your voice to this small slice of the pie. We’ve been doing this for such a short time, but have already learned quite a bit.

      You wrote about starting your drafts with pen and ink. Do you use a fountain pen to write with? If not, you just might want to give it a try – there’s something wonderful about that method of putting your thoughts down on paper. As beautifully as you write, it seems you and fountain pens would go very well together.

      Yes, the most important posts on this blog are the ones which point to Christ. Let’s keep shouting Christ is Lord from the mountain tops and on the pages of our blogs.

  9. I know this is an older post, but I wanted to make another observation. Kerry and I have already mentioned that new material helps bring in visitors to a blog, but there is one blog, which shall remain nameless that seems to be unaffected by the presence or lack thereof of new posts. As of the time of this comment, it has had nearly 250 unique visitors today and the content hasn’t been updated since sometime in March. What is on the blog is good material and I mean no disrespect to the author at all, but if I updated my blog on the schedule that author does, my traffic would go completely away. I have yet to figure that out.

    • Larry,
      Your points are valid and I totally agree with you. You told me something long ago that has proven to be true over the life of this small blog of mine. You said, in reference to Linux posts published @ LXer, I would probably see a continual hit count long after the article is no longer on the front page (not those exact words, but the idea is there). This has proven to be very true.

      The post about the R. L. Allan and Sons Chocolate Brown ESV1 bible beats all I’ve ever seen. The hit count on that is continually high and gives the Linux posts a run for their money. There are relatively few comments, however, compared to the number of hits.

      You already know I don’t post as much as you or Kerry, and it certainly shows in the hit count. Oh, there’s so much to write about, and I’ve just got to make myself do it. There’s actually a couple of ideas that need to be worked on, and perhaps that will be taken care of in the next couple of days. Thanks for the push.

      I’m going to have to search for the blog you sited. Hmmmmm!

Leave a Reply

