preacherpen

It’s a Boy!

In Family, The Pastor's Blog on March 6, 2009 at 8:28 PM

Now, hold on there. Before you get too excited about this older couple and a new baby, it’s not like that. Admit it, the title had you going, didn’t it? Everybody loves babies, and you almost can’t help yourself when you see the sign of what might be the announcement of a brand new baby coming into the world.

In the words of our brand new son-in-law (spoken just today) “you’re not losing a daughter, you’re gaining a son.” I’ll just tell you right now, we’re keeping our daughter and gaining a son in the process. Sure, she’s changing her residence, but my wife and I are not getting rid of her at all. We love her dearly, and love her husband, too.

img_0087He and our daughter have been seeing each other for about two years now, and I think that’s enough time to begin knowing someone. Our daughter and her husband have a life ahead of them, and we want the best for them. Sadly, we have seen so many couples call it quits after just a short marriage, and it is sad beyond words. Our hope is that they grow old together and live in the fear of God all the days of their lives.

Our daughter is the mother of two amazing children – our grandchildren, who we love with all our hearts. They have lived us nearly all their lives, and we are so thankful to be such a big part of their lives. We are not alone as grandparents who have grandchildren living under the same roof with them, and I’m quite certain others will carry on the tradition after these two darlings leave our house.

Our son-in-law is taking on a big responsibility with a wife and two young children to care for. He seems fit for the task at hand, though, and will quickly learn what it means to be a provider for a family of four. He loves our grandchildren, and they love him. That’s a big part of the battle, and I commend him for the responsibility he has taken on.img_0083

My wife and I have lots of adjusting ahead of us, too. What will we do without our daughter and grandchildren in the house with us? I’ve been getting up every school morning for several years and taking the little ones to school, and oftentimes picking them up in the afternoon. That’s not going to part of my routine any more, and I miss it already. I won’t hear “Pappy, can I get on your computer?” unless they happen to spend some time with us, and that better happen a lot!

You know, one of the things I’ll miss the most is getting ready for church, and walking across the street together. Now, they’ll still be part of our church, but it will be different not seeing them get dressed before service each time. That part of our lives is so important to us, but it will just be different, not gone.

My wife and I hope and pray this new family will allow Christ to be the cornerstone of their lives. We raised our twin daughters to know Jesus as Lord and Savior, and our son-in-law was raised that way, too. As parents, we must allow our children to grow up, but we never stop praying for them and hoping they will serve God with all their hearts. As a new family, it is so important to put Christ first in all they set their hearts to accomplish.

Would you help us pray for our family?img_0082

  1. I am so happy for you all and will be happy to pray for your family! Please tell your daughter how beautiful and joyful she and the girls look, and how handsome her hubby looks. I love the colors they chose, so cheerful and hopeful! May the lord richly bless you all during this transitional time, may He guide your steps and ease your way!

    • Thanks, eb. It was a beautiful day, and the temp was just right. We want our children to be happy and full of life. We all need prayer, and I am honored you will lift us all up before the Lord. Be blessed, and tell your family we said hello.

  2. You have beautiful grandchildren! And a beautiful daughter! And now a handsome son-in-law. Blessings to you all.

  3. Ron,
    I know first hand the kind of responsibility he is taking on. When my first wife passed away, people felt sorry for me and when I married Tammy, they felt happy. What they failed to realize was the fact that Tammy went from being a single woman to a mother overnight. It was a big step and one she took gladly, but not lightly. It sounds like your son-in-law has his head on straight and he is gaining a beautiful family. May God bless you all.

    • So many people have taken on the same responsibility we’re talking about, and have become better because of it. I have a step-dad who’s been a part of my life for over forty-five years now. There is just something in us that makes us want to parent. Thanks for the blessings.

  4. Congratulations!! Your new “boy” sounds like a wonderful man! We can relate–all three of our daughters are married to terrific, thoughtful, and gracious men. They’re not only a blessing to our girls, but to us as well! We cherish our relationship with them, and we’re thankful for their place in our family!
    God Bless your family and this new ‘addition!’

    • Linda,
      You and John are blessed, indeed, to have three wonderful sons-in-law. My wife and I are blessed, and want good things for our twin girls. Now, to get the other one married!

      We’ve seen our new “boy” an our daughter go through some bumps in the road over the last two years, but they have always managed to keep going. When we see how treats our grandchildren, it means a great deal to us, and we see the love he has for our daughter, too. Parents could do so much worse; we so thankful for this blossoming little family.

      Thank you so much for your gracious words regarding our new “addition.”

  5. Thank you for dropping by my site. The world, as Marshall McLuhan once said, has really become a global village, with the introduction of the printed word, and now, with virtual reality upon us, through cyber relationships. Heartwarming is getting to be an overused word, but that is what I feel. I never thought blog friendships could mean so much, whether it’s just beginning, or already maturing and mellowing. I read your post the day after I got back (Saturday here, Friday over where you live) …just didn’t want to leave a hastily written comment then.

    I have great admiration for your new son. When my son married his wife, God gave me a name for her, God-given. This is the same word that came to my heart when I read your post. God has indeed given you a son. The pictures are beautiful, and your daughter and grandchildren look very happy. Someone cares enough to take them all in “under his wings” so to speak. This is the same thing that happened to my best friend, Melanie. She was a widow with two teenage sons. When he married her, he bought a house with room enough for the three of them. During the wedding ceremony, there was a part where he openly declared that he will do his best, by God’s help, to be a father to them now that their mother has become his wife. His commitment to Melanie extended to Melanie’s sons as well. There wsn’t a dry eye in the congregation when he did that. This all came back to me as I read your post. How good God is. I know you will miss the three of them, but I rejoice with you and your wife over how things have turned out beautifully for your daughter. May abundant blessings be on them, especially the blessing of both of them remaining true to the marriage covenant (not contract).

    • Lidia,
      Thank you so much for your kind words and blessings on our family – it is received as from the wonderful sister in Christ you are.

      My sister and I have had a step-dad for 45 years now, and that has been both challenging and wonderful at the same time. I was very young at the time he and my mother married, and wasn’t always as nice as I should have been. The point is, as I’ve matured, the Lord has shown me what a huge responsibility he took upon himself in so many areas of our lives. I am grateful for him, and thank God he was so good to my mother all the years they were together. She died nearly two years ago, and is sorely missed!

      There is no doubt in our minds our new son-in-law will wonderfully care for his three girls. It’s not like my wife and I will be a million miles away; we’ll be here for them. Let me just tell you one thing, and that if the fact our older granddaughter won’t be very far from Gammy and Pappy.

      My wife and I are praying that little family will make it a habit of calling on the Lord, giving their lives wholly to him in all they do.

  6. Hi Ron! Love the new look!

    Blessings on you and your daughter and new son-in-law! How marvelous!

    Your title made me want to say, “What, no ‘Abraham and Sarah’ repeat?” 😉

    You have a beautiful family! God bless!

    Annie

    • Thanks, Annie. Yes, the new theme has grown on me and is definitely a keeper.

      About the Abraham and Sarah thing – not only “no”, but ABSOLUTELY NO!!!! My wife and I are, hopefully, out of the baby business, and don’t want to get back in it. When our daughter and grandchildren move their last box out of the parsonage, my wife and I will look at each other and probably say “what do we do now?” It will definitely be an empty-nest deal around here. I’m sure we’ll be able to figure out something to occupy our time.

  7. 😀 Can’t say I have any wisdom of experience there – but I know God does have wonderful purposes for every season of our lives, so I don’t doubt He will show you!

  8. Hi Ron, I’m back. Thanks to you I discover two new beautiful blogs and the women behind them. After writing my last comment on this post, I looked over your blog roll and one title caught my eye — Calling to Deep. I clicked on it, and a blog friendship was born as I put a comment on her blog and Annie returned my visit, went over to my posts, and read up on my previous posts, and then her sister Katie also “discovered” me, and I also visited Katie’s blog…and so on and so forth. Now I am reading up on both of their blogs and so thankful I “met” them. Just felt I needed to thank you for “introducing” me to them. By the way, do check out my latest post, on Spring. I want to show you some pictures of my garden.

    Blessings to you!

    • Yes, “Calling to Deep” is an awesome blog, and Annie is a wonderful woman. I’ve visited Katie’s blog, too. It’s good to have blog friends, and even though we are many miles apart, our spirits agree with each other that we are children of God.

      Our daughter and son-in-law got back from their visit to New York last night, and they were talking a mile a minute about the great time they had with his family. Our daughter had never seen snow like that before, and had never flown, either. Two brand new experiences to begin their marriage is a good thing, I believe.

      My wife and I have been busy today helping them move in to their new home. Please help us pray for God to establish them in Christ as they begin their new lives together.

      Be blessed.

  9. Congratulations on your son!!!! Maybe he’s got the good sense to be a GA. Fan HEEHEEHEE!!! I will keep all of you in my thaoughts and prayers.

    • Oh, no, you didn’t just say that! Actually, he’s a good guy and loves his pa-in-law’s Gators. That should prove right there he’s a pretty smart man!

  10. […] fellowship, pork roast by preacherpen I haven’t posted anything new since our daughter got married. She and her new husband are doing well, and our grandchildren are excited about moving in to their […]

Leave a Reply

