preacherpen

Florida Gators Looking Pretty Good

In Sports on December 10, 2008 at 3:09 PM

In case you don’t know by now, let me state I am unapologetic in being a Florida Gator fan. I only follow two sports, though, so I might not be classified as a real fan. The two college sports I follow are football and basketball; baseball, tennis, soccer and others just don’t seem to hold the same attention as the first two.

Many people didn’t give the Gators much of a chance to be in the title game, especially after losing by one point to Ole Miss in September. After that loss, however, Florida has been playing with more passion and intensity.  Many commentators, bloggers and media gave the Gators little chance to win against Alabama’s powerhouse team. Florida keeps pressing forward, though.

I wrote a post in September about the possibility of the Gators winning another title, and it seems that reality is getting closer all the time. Mind you, it’s not over yet, and we face a very good team in the Oklahoma Sooners. That is a team which shows balance in all aspects of the game from coaching to execution in offense, defense and special teams.

On November 28, I wrote a post entitled The Florida Gators Need Three More, in which the last games Florida needs for the title are outlined. This is not rocket science; these are just some ramblings of a Gator fan who would like to see us with another national championship to our credit. We will definitely have to wait and see what happens.

While coming home this morning from a little R&R, I was reading an article in the USA Today paper (my wife was driving) about Sam Bradford bringing pride to the Cherokee Indians. It was a good article, and revealed a lot of information about OU’s star quarterback I didn’t know. It’s good to read about young people who have their heads squarely placed on their shoulders.

As far as the Heisman Trophy goes, it appears Sam Bradford is a heavyweight in the voting, and many just walk away with that prestigious award. If he does, good for him, and it will be well earned. Please allow me to interject the fact our quarterback is not shabby, by any stretch of the imagination. It is certain, Tim Tebow is not showing the numbers he put up last year, but he has matured into a better quarterback and team leader, in my opinion.

I would like to know what you think about the title game. What are your thoughts about the teams, coaches and who will hoist the coveted trophy. Comments are welcome, but, as always, they must be civil and without profanity. Would you also take my poll?

  1. Well, my brother, who happens to be a complete die hard Sooner fan would say “BOOMER SOONER”!!

    Sorry, Ron, but I just couldn’t resist.

  2. Oh, is that how it’s going to be? You’re just looking at the red instead of the dominant orange and blue. Anyway, Florida wasn’t supposed to get this far, but we’ll just to wait and see.

  3. I will have to send my brother over here to debate this one. He knows much more about all of this than do I. From what I see, it should be a good game, nonetheless.

  4. Larry, just send him over, and we’ll discuss this in an orderly manner. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

