preacherpen

Changed by the Power of God

In A Christian Life on September 19, 2008 at 12:52 AM

Since the first post on this excellent forum called a blog, I have been searching for just the right look; the theme has changed more times than I can count, and probably will change again. I believe the current setup Digg 3 has lasted longer than the other ones, though. Have you changed your blog’s looks more than a few times?

After coming home from our prayer meeting tonight, I began thinking about this very subject, and wondered if there might be some other application for the reality of change. For instance, we live in a changing world, and we are constantly undergoing change, both in our physical bodies and in our spirits. Our great nation is changing; the world is changing. Take heart, because God does not change.

After reading blogs for only a short period of time, I have come to a brilliant conclusion: blogs reflect the personality of the people who write them. I know that is basic, and perhaps a bit simplistic, but it appears to be true. The appearance of my blog, and what I write certainly reflect who I am, and what I want people to get out of a visit here. The same can most surely be said of scores of others sharing in this remarkable form of communication.

The Apostle Paul wrote in Romans 12:1-2 “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. 2 And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.” The word transformed means to change, transfigure, transform. When we come to Christ for salvation, we begin a life of transformation; we don’t stay the same. Thankfully, we grow into mature Christians by the help and grace of God. II Corinthians 3:18 declares “But we all, with open face beholding as in a glass the glory of the Lord, are changed into the same image from glory to glory, even as by the Spirit of the Lord.”

I am not satisfied with myself; there is more work to be done in me. Like Paul, I am pressing toward the mark. The highest calling any of us can have is to become sons and daughters of Almighty God, being fashioned by His hands of mercy and grace. Just like changing a simple thing like a WordPress theme, I must ever change and be pliable in the hands of a loving and wise God.

One of my favorite portions of scripture is found in Jeremiah 18:1-6, and I present it to you for consideration:

1 The word which came to Jeremiah from the Lord, saying, 2 Arise, and go down to the potter’s house, and there I will cause thee to hear my words. 3 Then I went down to the potter’s house, and, behold, he wrought a work on the wheels. 4 And the vessel that he made of clay was marred in the hand of the potter: so he made it again another vessel, as seemed good to the potter to make it. 5 Then the word of the Lord came to me, saying, 6 O house of Israel, cannot I do with you as this potter? saith the Lord. Behold, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are ye in mine hand, O house of Israel.

My prayer is for the Lord to mold me however He sees fit. I have found myself falling off the potter’s wheel from time to time, and know that’s a dangerous position to be in. How about you, do you need to change? Do you find yourselves way too satisfied?

Lord, help me to reflect you in my life, and change me by your great power.

  1. Beautifully written, that post blessed me today.

  2. I like the new look, especially the maroon and white, MSU’s colors. I’m always looking at other templates on the design page but I just can’t find one that has everything I want.

  3. @eb: Thanks, as this blog is supposed to bless people. All the fluff is to bring people to a place where they can see the reality of Christ.

    Doc, thanks. I wasn’t thinking about your colors, but glad that’s what they are just for you. For me, though, the colors would have been much better orange and blue.

Leave a comment