preacherpen

Family Fun

In Family on September 3, 2008 at 9:10 AM

My wife and I have the privilege of looking after our grandchildren quite often. We are blessed to be such a large part of their lives. I have known plenty of grandparents who rarely see their grandchildren, and have seen the disappointment on their faces. Proverbs 17:6 (ESV) declares “Grandchildren are the crown of the aged,and the glory of children is their fathers.”

I don’t know when this first started, but there is a great little game our two munchkins have been playing for quite a while now. As we travel anywhere, each one looks for her favorite car and calls its name when it’s spotted. It’s fun listening to them as they reel off their cars, and, of course, keeping a tally. Bragging rights, you know.

The elder of the two likes VW Beetles, and the younger is fascinated with PT Cruisers. The cars can be any color, year or any condition; if it’s spotted, it’s fair game. The cars can even be on a “used car” lot, but not on a new car dealership’s lot – that would be quite unfair. I wish you could hear them as they call out “Bug” or “PT Crusiser.”

We couldn’t let the children have all the fun, so my wife and I joined in. It took a long time to figure out which cars we would look for, but we finally narrowed our choices to manageable levels. After further pruning, our list is the Mercedes Benz M-Class for my wife’s pick, and mine is the little Mini Cooper. You see who has the expensive taste, don’t you?

To us, this is a fun and harmless game we play with our grandchildren, and in no way reflects a desire to own the cars we pick. For me, I’m quite satisfied with my Nissan Frontier crew cab. My wife really enjoys her Ford Escape because it’s roomy enough for the grandchildren and all the other things she hauls around.

Aren’t children’s children fun?

  1. That’s funny. Our three kids always pick out “punch buggies” (VW beetles) and PT cruisers

Leave a Reply

