preacherpen

This Little Light

In A Christian Life on August 28, 2008 at 5:15 PM

According to Webster’s dictionary, one definition of light is “something that makes vision possible.” There are other definitions, too, and they can be found at Merriam-Webster OnLine. Personally, I am thankful our heavenly Father created light; it sure does help when we want to look at something. Our world is full of light sources, and God put more in the sky than we could possibly count.

I have been wanting to change out my desk lamp for quite a while now, and just recently got around to it. My choice had to produce lots of light, but not produce much heat. The most important requirement for me was the light’s ability to help these older eyes see the pages of my Bible and other books while sitting at my desk. I wrote about Bible reading as a personal goal here and here. After just a little looking, I came home a few days ago with just the right light.

The Word of God is full of references to light, and I would like to address some of them. According to my Bible study software, BibleTime, there are 235 references to light in the King James Version (KJV). I do believe the Lord has a lot to say on the subject.

The Bible tells us in Ephesians 5:13-14 (KJV) “13 But all things that are reproved are made manifest by the light: for whatsoever doth make manifest is light. 14 Wherefore he saith, Awake thou that sleepest, and arise from the dead, and Christ shall give thee light.” I really like the way the English Standard Version (ESV) renders the same scriptures: “13 But when anything is exposed by the light, it becomes visible, 14 for anything that becomes visible is light. Therefore it says, Awake, O sleeper, and arise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.”

In his discourse on The Similitudes, Jesus spoke of Christian character and how we are to affect the world around us. The truly born-again believer is both salt and light. Salt adds flavoring, acts as a preservative, heals wounds and melts ice. Light shines forth in a world full of darkness and human depravity. The Christian is not to hide this wonderful light; rather, it is to be placed on a candlestick for the world to see. Darkness can’t completely hide light, but just a ray of light dispels the darkness. Look at what Jesus said in Matthew 5:13-16:

13 ¶Ye are the salt of the earth: but if the salt have lost his savour, wherewith shall it be salted? it is thenceforth good for nothing, but to be cast out, and to be trodden under foot of men. 14 Ye are the light of the world. A city that is set on an hill cannot be hid. 15 Neither do men light a candle, and put it under a bushel, but on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto all that are in the house. 16 Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.

We can’t hide from God, no matter how hard we try. The Lord sees us even when we are in darkness. Psalm 139:12 declares “Yea, the darkness hideth not from thee; but the night shineth as the day: the darkness and the light are both alike to thee.” His glorious light shines in dark places, revealing everything and every intent. Look at Psalm 139:7-12

7 Whither shall I go from thy spirit? or whither shall I flee from thy presence? 8 If I ascend up into heaven, thou art there: if I make my bed in hell, behold, thou art there. 9 If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea; 10 Even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me. 11 If I say, Surely the darkness shall cover me; even the night shall be light about me. 12 Yea, the darkness hideth not from thee; but the night shineth as the day: the darkness and the light are both alike to thee.

I am pleased with my new light, and know it will help me read with greater ease. What about your light today? Is your light shining before a lost and dying world? Are you leading others to the one true living light, Jesus Christ, the Son of God?

  1. That’s good and a reminder of both Jesus being the Light and us being lights in a world of darkness. Sometimes it’s a fight to keep the light burning.

Leave a Reply

