preacherpen

Hurry With the Drilling, Please

In Politics on August 27, 2008 at 12:42 PM

Some of you may know one of my personal goals is to Shed Some Pounds. After a week of Tropical Storm Fay, I finally got to ride my bike again beginning yesterday, and it was a welcome adventure. An old guy like me doesn’t need to take a week’s break before starting up again!

Anyway, while at the local Chick-fil-a (what? can’t a guy take a break?), I picked up our local newspaper and read an interesting article about oil drilling. I couldn’t find the article on the newspaper’s site, but did manage to track it to Politico under 6 more senators seek end to oil drilling impasse. Actually, the story is all over the net.

What struck me about the article is the fact senators from both sides of the aisle are tossing their hats in the ring in order to finally permit offshore drilling. What is the problem with allowing more drilling, in the first place? Personally, I don’t believe members of congress should have left for their undeserved vacations without first settling this important issue. Perhaps they can well afford the high price of gas, but I know many people who are struggling to keep their vehicles running due to the ridiculously high fuel prices.

Congress likes to blame speculators for high oil prices, and I partially agree. I firmly believe Congress should shoulder the majority of the blame on this matter, though. Between the two of them, oil prices are much higher than they should be. What do you think?

  1. I think the democratic party is happy with high oil.

    I actually have a link on my blog quoting Obama saying [paraphrased] the prices are ok, he wishes the gas price rise would have risen slower.

  2. I don’t look for congress ever to really do much. They’re blown around by the winds worse than a lost sailboat.

Leave a Reply

