preacherpen

Flat Tires Everywhere

In A Christian Life on August 25, 2008 at 6:41 PM

Life is certainly full of bumps and bruises, and we are constantly affected by them. One day it’s a bump, the next day it’s a bruise, and sometimes you get both on the same day. No one is immune to life’s challenges, and none of us should think it strange when things happen to us and we’re thrown off kilter for a while.

God blessed our church with two awesome services yesterday; His presence was so real you could sense He wanted to do something special. There was a worshipful spirit in the sanctuary during both services, and people were genuinely touched by the power of God. I love to be in God’s presence, do you?

We hadn’t been in the evening service for very long when some friends from another church and city walked in. It was good to see mother and daughter worship the Lord with our people; there is something special about Christian fellowship. It is powered by the love of God and pleases the Lord to no end. I John 1:3, (KJV) declares “That which we have seen and heard declare we unto you, that ye also may have fellowship with us: and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.”

After the service, many of us stayed in the sanctuary, not wanting to leave after such a wonderful service. This reminds me of church meetings we used to have many years ago when people would linger afterwords for what seemed hours. We just didn’t want to leave. I would like to see more of that go on in our churches today.

On the way home, our friends had a flat tire, and it happened in a pretty dark section of the road leading to the highway. Thankfully, my clerk and I were still at the church, and got a call about the flat tire. My clerk left to change the flat, and I followed shortly after changing into some different clothes. Between my clerk and me, we got the tire changed and our friends went on their way. BTW, the tire was shredded; it was mangled beyond recognition.

Some would ask, “why would that happen to someone who just came from church?” Life is full of disappointments, tragedies, bumps and bruises, but in the scheme of things, a flat tire takes a back seat when compared with more serious things. I could write a list about a mile long of more serious disasters than a flat tire, and you could, too.

Look at the Apostle Paul as he wrote in II Corinthians 11:22-30:

22 Are they Hebrews? so am I. Are they Israelites? so am I. Are they the seed of Abraham? so am I. 23 Are they ministers of Christ? (I speak as a fool) I am more; in labours more abundant, in stripes above measure, in prisons more frequent, in deaths oft. 24 Of the Jews five times received I forty stripes save one. 25 Thrice was I beaten with rods, once was I stoned, thrice I suffered shipwreck, a night and a day I have been in the deep; 26 In journeyings often, in perils of waters, in perils of robbers, in perils by mine own countrymen, in perils by the heathen, in perils in the city, in perils in the wilderness, in perils in the sea, in perils among false brethren; 27 In weariness and painfulness, in watchings often, in hunger and thirst, in fastings often, in cold and nakedness. 28 Beside those things that are without, that which cometh upon me daily, the care of all the churches. 29 Who is weak, and I am not weak? who is offended, and I burn not? 30 If I must needs glory, I will glory of the things which concern mine infirmities.

In the light of what Paul went through, wouldn’t you rather have a flat tire?

  1. Hey Pastor,
    Well done! I am truly impressed by this.
    Cara

Leave a Reply

