preacherpen

What Are You Thinking?

In Politics on August 20, 2008 at 10:16 AM

PEOPLE are amazing creatures, wouldn’t you agree? We were made in the image of God, made after His likeness. Man has so many wonderful traits, yet, it is amazing how far from God we have fallen. Sometimes I wonder how the Lord puts up with us, but I am ever grateful He does. The love of God is amazing, to say the least.

It never occurred to me I would be sitting here in front of my desktop computer writing about a political topic. Understand, I love watching the Fox News Channel and Glenn Beck as often as I can and listen to Rush Limbaugh and Glenn on the radio almost daily. You might have figured out by now I am unapologetically conservative.

Let me tell you a story that really happened. A wonderful man I know used to voice reservations about Barack Obama on many levels. To name a few: his refusal to mention God, his apparent lack of patriotism, his stance on abortion, his stance on gun control, and many other things, too. These are real issues, and the senator has made his stance clear on them.

The same man now says it’s time to get a black man in office because we’ve spent all the years of our nation’s history with white men filling that office. That sounds suspiciously like the “quota system” to me. In other words, my friend has turned completely around. He used to deride those who were voting for Senator Obama simply because he is black; now he has crossed the line and become one of the people he used to talk about.

I believe it is dangerous to vote for someone simply based on race. No matter which race you belong to, you need to vote prayerfully, intelligently and thoughtfully. Vote and back the one most qualified to lead, not the one who only stirs your emotions. Please don’t vote for someone solely because it’s “history in the making.” That shows no regard for our nation’s needs.

What does the senator want to change? Life in America as we know it. He speaks of change, but has veiled his ideas in slick talk and innuendos. Sadly, scores of American people have bought what he says without asking what he means. I truly believe Senator Obama is a dangerous man, and should never take the office of the president of the United States of America. My prayer is that Americans wake up before it’s too late.

  1. Keep raising your voice, Ron. We need to understand just how dangerous Barack Obama really is.

  2. Thanks, Larry. We must pray for our country, believing God will send revival fires all across the land. People need to wake up out of their deep sleep before disaster strikes.

  3. Pastor Ron,
    I really like what you have written here, and agree whole heartly. We know each other from Mepis Lovers.

Leave a Reply

