preacherpen

Personal Goal – Daily Bible Reading, Part 2

In Goals on July 8, 2008 at 4:34 AM

I must confess, having a daily reading plan means absolutely nothing if it isn’t used. Thankfully, the Lord has given me the time and desire to pursue my goal with a strong purpose. It would be difficult, at best, to describe the joy I get when the day’s reading goal is checked.

Now, to some, it may sound as if this exercise is merely mechanical in order to fulfill form and fashion only. No, it is far more than that. God’s Word is satisfying to the very soul, and I know something good is coming of this journey I’ve begun. Yes, I do want to complete the course, but as each portion is read, it seems the Lord is opening up something new each time, and that is well worth the time spent at my desk with Bible open.

In talking with several of my pastor friends, I am finding many of them are pursuing the same goal. Yes, pastors are supposed to read God’s Word; this is more than “just what we’re supposed to do.” It’s as if there is a newness and freshness that’s being stirred in our spirits. The Lord is giving us a new desire to receive all He has for us through the pages of God’s holy book.

What about you today? Do you set some time aside each day to spend with the Lord through prayer and reading His precious Word? Will you begin to take time? Let me assure you, time can be found if you really want to read. One of the sayings my people hear quite often is “you can do what you want to do.” If any of really want to, we can find the time to read every day. Now, get to it!

  1. That’s so true. We are already making time to do what we need to do everyday. We fail to realize that reading God’s word is as necessary as eating food and drinking water. We need God’s word more than gas in the tank. Nice blog!

  2. I heartily agree, fellows! I was listening to Isaiah on CD, which was good and all, but I find that systematic reading and study of it has been better for me personally. When I get off track with a Bible reading plan I feel lost, my days & weeks seem more disorganised. When I am on track with the daily Bible reading I notice everything seems to go better for me.

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog, Pastor Ron. It is so very true that the days seem lost when no part of it is spent in Scripture. It’s a challenging to try to read through in a year, but every time I pick up the Bible, God has something fresh for me – and so very often, something I really need to hear.

    • We must hide God’s eternal Word in our hearts; it is our spiritual food, and gives life to all who hear it. I gave my people copies of reading plans this year, and will do the same for 2009. They do enjoy spending time reading and ingesting the holy writ.

  4. […] I am grateful beyond words. It is now the version of choice for my daily Bible reading (here and here), and has become the one I preach from most often. Thank you, Mark, and others on his blog who made […]

Leave a Reply

