preacherpen

Hidden Treasures

In A Christian Life, Bibles, The Pastor's Blog on November 16, 2008 at 5:32 PM

While shuffling through some paperwork at my parents’ home last week, an old March 10, 1969 issue of the Church of God Evangel showed up. My, how things have changed over the years. Here’s a little blurb from the Evangel site:

Don’t miss a single issue of the Evangel, the official journal of the Church of God, Cleveland, Tennessee. Join the thousands who look forward to their monthly copy of this dynamic, full-color, 32-page magazine. First published on March 1, 1910, this award-winning publication continues to bless its readers generation after generation.


evangel-1969-cambridge-bibleThere was something quite interesting in that issue; something I had not seen before. Right there on page 18 is an advertisement for a new Cambridge Bible. Now, I would love to own one of those Bibles, but I just don’t know where to look. Looking at the pricing scheme lets me know the one for me would cost a whopping $14.25, including red letter, and thumb indexing. What a bargain. You can barely get a box the Bible comes in now for that price.

Here’s a description for those interested:

Printed on fine India paper in unsurpassed Cameo type for effortless reading. Contains many reading ‘helps’ – center references, self-pronunciation, Concordance, 8 colored maps and gazetteer.

Size: 5 1/4″ x 7 1/2″, 7/8″ thick


Another treasure in that Evangel is found on page 17. This is a feature entitled By His Stripes, Testimonies of Healing. There are several stories of God’s amazing grace in healing the sick, and they still speak of the power of God to affect the lives of those who believe.

I also found some other booklets that contain treasures which I hope to explore during the course of the next several weeks. There are several pamphlets written in the 1920s and 1930s which are in my possession now; these are treasures to me, and I hope to spend some time doing some serious reading.

What about you? Have you found any hidden treasures lately? You may not know it, but the Word of God contains more hidden treasure than your mind can comprehend. There are stories in God’s Word for every situation in life, and you can find rest in the pages of that wonderful book. If you want lasting, hidden treasure, turn to the Word of God, and you will find more than your wildest dreams could ever imagine.

  1. Sounds wonderful! I was recently going through some old school stuff, and it is amazing the memories it can revive!

  2. K, your new theme is certainly bright and cheerful. Thanks for the comment. It will take quite some time, but there’s more to go through. I want to savor those hidden treasures, and see what the Lord will speak through them.

  3. Joy Renée, I’m so glad you dropped in to see what’s here. I just visited your blog, and could tell your excitement about the upcoming classes you will be taking. Good for you.

  4. I would have loved to read some of the articles. I bet things have changed but not too much. Also would have been fun to see their clothing.

  5. Hey, DaRonn. I don’t know if the Evangel has been digitized yet, but I’ll see what I can do for you. Give me a few days, as we’ve been swamped.

  6. Now that collection sounds like it might be worth quite a bit of money! :-) What a prized collection you have. Wow…The oldest spiritual book I have is a book entitled, “The Questing Spirit” which is from 1947. It covers all types of literature that dealt with religion during this epoch.

    I love old books. I have started collecting them as of the past few years. Your article gave me an idea about, perhaps, starting to collect old bibles. That would be an incredible collection.

    Thanks for sharing this great story. It was a wonderful peek into your “perspective!”

  7. Thanks, Dominique. Some of the pamphlets and books were written by early Church of God authors, and reading them is easy. I’m fond of that particular writing style. There’s enough to keep me busy for a while, and I will certainly enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

