preacherpen

Personal Goal – Shed Some Pounds

In Goals on July 10, 2008 at 1:41 PM

Most of you probably don’t know anything about having to carry some extra weight around with you, but I do.  I’m not referring to the burden of a heavy coat or anything like it; no, there’s a few extra pounds on the pastor’s frame that needs to disappear.

I can remember being in the best shape of my life just before retiring from the Air Force many years ago.  Our commanding officer had us running three times a week, playing racquetball every day, and basketball quite often, too.  Whew!  I actually won a racquetball tournament in the rookie division – that just wouldn’t work now, though.

One of our very good friends bought my wife a bicycle for her birthday.  On the day I had to go pick it up from the store, my wife suggested it was time for me to get one, too, so we could ride together.  Well, being up for an adventure, I looked around and found a bike to my liking.  It wasn’t long, and both bicycles were at home and ready for our first ride.

I walk fast.  My wife and grandchildren have a hard time keeping up with me, so I have to force myself to slow down.  It wasn’t long before I was getting up early in the morning in order to ride my bike, that way I could really push myself.  The more I ride, the better I feel, and the pounds will eventually begin to disappear.

My mountain bike. Great for hills, too.

My mountain bike. Great for hills, too.

After a couple of weeks putting around the local neighborhood, it was time to venture out a little further.  Mac’s Steak House (McDonald’s), is about 3 miles from the parsonage, and I’ve started riding there, stopping for a cup of coffee, then riding back.  There are some pretty nice hills in the little town we live in, so the round trip is a good workout.  I can imagine what some people think when they see a gray-haired stumpy man riding a mountain bike through town, breathing hard and trying not to act like he’s tired at all.

Does anyone want to ride along with me?

  1. Dad, I am so proud of you!!!! You know I love you and want you to be as healthy and happy as ever. I think this is possibly one of the most effective and safe ways for you to boost your metabolism and especially your energy level. And you know this will do wonders for your heart and blood pressure. The bicycle is perfect for you because you are getting a great overall, whole body workout, without straining your old joints. :) I remember the days when you were playing racquetball, basketball, and running every week. Those memories are actually still very vivid to me. But now as a more mature man, you’ve got to take it easy while still staying active. GREAT CHOICE!!!! You’ve always been a smart one. It makes me happy to think of you cycling all over town. Just think of how you’re helping the environment and setting a good example for all the just over the hill gents like yourself. Dad, all I can say is just keep it up and the benefits will never end. Love Ya Lots

  2. You’re better than me – I’ve got to shed not “some” but a lot of pounds. Did good today so far.

  3. [...] e-mail and browsing the MEPISlovers forum, it was time to get on the bike and take care of my riding for the day. I’ve really got to update the post about my riding, though, as there has been [...]

  4. [...] e-mail and browsing the MEPISlovers forum, it was time to get on the bike and take care of my riding for the day. I’ve really got to update the post about my riding, though, as there has been [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

